Happy Halloween…Err…NaNo!

For mortals and the Dearly Departed tomorrow is October 31st.   A day of pumpkins, costumes, and bags full of mini-chocolate bars, m&ms, and candy corn.  For others it is the Celtic New Year, for others a Sabbat in which to honor ancestors.

For writers- it is, “Oh, my Gawd!  NaNo begins at the stroke of midnight!”

Believe me- that is much more frightening than any ghouls or hands reaching out of graves. Those at least can be exorcised.

But NaNo?   NaNo is the ultimate monster that CANNOT BE KILLED!  It mercilessly, incessantly attacks for an entire month straight turning writers into the very zombies that normal folk watched on their TV on Halloween.

For those who may not know what NaNo is:

National Novel Writing Month.   The goal is to write 50,000 words in 30 days.  Crazy, huh?  Yup!  That’s the point.  The joy of turning off the inner-editor and letting all the words pour out of your head onto the paper.  No worrying at all.  No editing.  Pure insanity.

I participated last year for the first time and had a blast.   How could I not enjoy something that crazy?  Oh, the endless nights!  The never-ending cups of green tea!  The agony and escasty poured out onto writing forums across the Internet.

So what am I doing this year?

Finishing this draft!  That’s what!  Or, in other words- cheating.  Ya see- NaNo has this rule that states the work should be a totally fresh piece of work.   Personally, I see no difference in going from zero to 50,000 words or from continuing let’s say from 20,000 words and adding 50,000 new words to finish a novel you’ve begun.  Not to mention, NaNo is a competition against yourself. Not others.

To put it simply, I have no qualms about breaking silly, little rules.

Anyhow, I’ve taken this week off from working on my WIP to rest my poor, little head.  (and fingers!) Then,  come Nov. 1st at the stroke of midnight- I’m off!

What are you all doing for NaNo?

Good luck to all!

Published in: on October 31, 2008 at 12:33 am  Comments (20)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2008/10/31/happy-halloweenerrnano/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

20 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m thinking of doing an unofficial NANO as well. AW is dead this month, so that won’t be a distraction. I don’t think I’ll keep up with the daily word count though. I don’t know who got the bright idea of putting NANO in November. We’re having company for a week for Thanksgiving!

  2. Morning to ya, Rachel! 🙂

    NaNo automatically signed me up since I participated last year, so I will keep track of my word count on their site. Most of all, just as a way to keep me really motivated.

    I think either October or February would be good NaNO months. Oh, wait- we lose a couple days in Feb. Scratch that!

    Good luck with your NaNo if you go ahead with it!

  3. I have no idea what I’m really going to do this year. I’m using a character I just created like last week, and I don’t have much more than that. A theme of redemption, I guess. I’ve never started with a theme before, so we’ll see how it goes.

    I’ve only written like 600,000 words of crap this year (I’m not counting how much I’ve written before this year, mostly because I’ve no idea how much that would be, lol), so I’ve still got another 400,000 words to go before I reach my million words of crap writing. This NaNo book will help me reach that goal, lol!

  4. yay for NaNo! I’m doing the same thing, finishing a WIP. I did it last year too and don’t feel a bit guilty. I’m a baaaaaaaaaaaad girl.

  5. Hey there, Jen!

    If you ever saw the billions of words of crap I’ve written throughout the years- you’d feel a whole lot better! 🙂

  6. Hey Mary,

    Good for you! I don’t feel a drop of guilt either. There’s no way in hell I’d put aside my WIP while in the heat of it.

  7. Lucky for me NaNo is falling at just the right time. I recently finished the draft of my last novel so I’ve been gearing up to start something new. Unlike you, I’ve never participated in NaNo before. It should be interesting!

  8. Hey K.S.!

    Welcome to the insane world of NaNO-ing.

    “Interesting” is putting it mildly.

    Have fun with it!

    And congrats on finishing the draft of your last novel. 🙂

  9. Hooray for cheating! That’s my plan too– finish the draft 🙂

  10. Well I’ll be posting my NaNo attempt on my blog (and probably cut and pasting it to my own NaNo entry page).

    http://thewonderingswordsman.wordpress.com/

    And yes, I know there is a typo in the addy, too late to change it, so no problem there.

  11. Hey Colby,

    Welcome to the Unofficial Cheating at NaNO Club. Otherwise known as: “Bending a Nonsensical Rule”. 🙂

  12. Hi Ralfast,

    Thanks for adding me to your Sturm und Drang blogroll. Added you to mine.

  13. I’m going to run with my Girl Next Door YA novel for NaNo. I’ve already written the first fifteen pages, true, but land clearing and horse shelters and rescue dog spayings got in the way — and it’s the work I truly want to complete.

    I know it’s supposed to be about output and fun, and it will be, but I still need the writing to be writing I can eventually publish. A first draft.

    NaNo will get my butt back in the writing chair. : )

    I’m new to NaNo, too — I guess I’m doing it unofficially — following the premise of 50,000 words in a month starting tomorrow but not part of any NaNo group — I’ll get nothing done if I’m socializing, lol. AW taught me that. : P (Although I love AW — that’s how I found your blog, Tasha!)

    I didn’t know we’re supposed to sign up somewhere?

    Em

  14. Good morning, Em! 🙂

    The website is http://www.nanowrimo.org

    You’ll see where to sign up. You just fill out the usual “user profile” and you’ll see where you can add your word stats. Some people like to put them in every day, others every week. Makes no difference.

    You’re right. Greatly limit your time socializing on the forums. I only posted a few times on threads last year. I just went there mostly to post my numbers to keep me motivated and get some inspiration from others.

    I do think officially signing up works better than doing it unofficially on your own. There’s something about seeing your stats in BOLD to keep you going.

    And I’m so glad you discovered my blog- which led me to your wonderful blogs!

    Tons of luck to you!

  15. I’m usually working on a book when NaNo comes around. Heck, I’m usually working on a book, period – when it’s winter, when there are elections, when Halley’s Comet arrives, whenever.

    Which means I can’t stop my progress on that book to work on anything new – and my fantasies tend to be long, 130K first drafts. I can’t produce one just for NaNo. As you said, though, NaNo is a competition against yourself, so I’m doing that all the time anyway. 🙂

  16. Oh, excellent point, Marian!

    When aren’t we competing against ourselves? Trying to improve our craft…

  17. Already started. Good luck to all.

  18. Hey Tasha. : ) Happy Saturday, Happy NaNo!

    WordPress had a NaNo post up that I found right after I posted my question here yesterday, so I followed the link and signed up. : ) But thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

    I had no idea of the scope of this thing!

    I haven’t filled out an author profile and such yet –but I’m HorsebackWriter on NaNo, just like I am on AW.

    The Girl Next Door (what I’ll be writing) is 4413 words right now, so I’ll finish up NaNo at 54,413 words at the least, to make it an official NaNo win.

    I’m so excited! My first NaNo. : )

    Good luck, everyone!

    The *coolest* thing was the NaNo FAQ with the list of published novels that actually came from NaNoWriMo!

    Em

  19. Good luck with NaNoWriMo! I’m writing, but not officially a NaNo person.

  20. Hello Barrie,

    Thank you so much. The same to you.

    I’ll be posting my results (thus far) soon. My brain’s been too foggy from NaNo-ing to concentrate on a blog post. Not to mention my weary hands and fingers!


Leave a Reply

