And the NaNo Race is Off…

Goodness!  Where do I begin?  What a few days it’s been.   Strictly talking NaNo here.  (it’s not like anything major was going on in the world yesterday.  *grin*)

I had to work Saturday, so my NaNo officially began at 10 P.M.  Then, I perched down on my usual spot- sitting Indian-Style upon the sofa with my laptop – tea within hand’s reach.  I was so giddy to begin.  Writing is such a solitary art and craft that it was warming to think of the other participants all around  the world engaging in the same activity, fortified with their endless cups of tea, coffee, and hot chocolate.

Words rushed from my fingertips onto the page.   Hours flew by.   Finally, at 3 a.m., I started feeling tired.  But that was okay.  Surely, I had surpassed the necessary 1667 daily words.

I clicked on Microsoft Works Word Counter.

1317 words.

At that moment, it would’ve been less horrifying if the Borg invaded my living room.

My eyes were playing tricks on me.

I looked again.

1317 words.

Okay.   The word counter was obviously broken.  It wasn’t counting words beginning with “t” or “s”.

(sob)

I pressed on another 45 minutes.  1532 words.   It was either give up and go to bed  or resort to typing “la la la” a couple hundred times.

Bed won.  Lying there, I wondered how I could’ve forgotten how formidable NaNo is.  But, then I pulled myself together.   My thoughts turned to Emily Bronte and Emily Dickinson.  Anyone who’s read much of my blog knows Ms. Bronte is my absolute writing icon.   Dickinson is a new passion.   Not only were these two women geniuses- but more importantly, they were complete individuals who wrote exactly what they wished without a care what others thought.  What better Muses for NaNo?  So I called upon them for inspiration.  Invoking their names as I drifted asleep.

It must have worked because on Monday evening I reached over 9,000 words.  Yeah!!!!!!!

After a false start, I’m on my way.   I am sure during the next 30 days there will be other setbacks.   But I am even more sure that I shall be victorious.

How are my fellow NaNoers doing?

Call upon your personal Muses and Write on…

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2008/11/05/and-the-nano-race-is-off/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

27 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great job. I should add about 2000 more works tonight so I can hit my target of 10k. I am hoping to write about 2,000 words every day, so that I will cross the finish line with a comfortable 60k novel!

  2. Hi Ralfast,

    So glad to hear you are continuing to do well.
    I was quite intrigued by what I read thus far.

  3. YAY! That’s awesome progress!

    I’ve added 1.5k so far today, and am I hoping to add another 1.5k tonight, bringing my total to just over 17k so far.

    I’ve wandered quite a bit, but I’m having fun. Except for my “o” key sticking. Quite annoying, to say the least.

  4. Jen,

    You are totally kicking butt. Go you- go! 🙂

    I love how much fun you seem to be having. Me, too.
    NaNo was such a blessed invention. I can honestly say my inner-editor has been firmly shut off. What bliss!

  5. Yowza that’s a lot of words! I think one of the cool things about doing NANO would be the thought you had, of all the other writers across the aorld simultaneously toiling in front of their screens!

  6. I’m the slow and steady turtle. I’ve got 8,600. I expect to have 10K by the time I got to bed tonight. Roughly 2K a day is my comfort zone. That means I should have about 60K by the end of the month which is normally where I land in my NaNo attempt.

  7. 9,000 words? ROCK ON!

  8. I second that — 9,000 words? You rock!

    I’m at 8971, technically — I’m very happy! : )

    When I saw your post’s title, my heart plummeted!

    “The NaNo Race is off” — I thought you were dropping out, LOL!

    I hope your writing continues to flow! Good for you!

    Em

  9. Rachel,

    It is really strange. During NaNo you can really feel it. Of course, during the whole year, you know other writers are struggling and toiling away, but it doesn’t have the same effect.

  10. Mary,

    Slow and steady wins the race.

    And goodness- I can’t imagine writing all that with the job you have!

  11. Hey Em!

    Oh, heavens no. I was imagining a gun going off for a race. “…and they’re off!”

    If I do at some point hit a bump, I’ll let ya all know so you can come kick my butt. But thus far, all is good.

    And thank you. May your words continue to flow, too. 🙂

  12. Colby,

    Thanks! You, too!

  13. I’m behind a bit but soon to introduce a major character and the first fight with a “boss” of sorts (would be if this where a video game or movie).

  14. Just dropping in to check your progress and cheer you on. I’m not NaNoing myself, but I’ve been exposed and don’t expect to see anything but the back of hubby’s head until December. Keep up the good work. You’re doing fine!

  15. Hey Ralfast,

    Don’t worry. You’ll catch up. Sounds like you’re coming to a fun scene to write.

  16. Amy,

    Thank you so much! Your encouragement is much appreciated.

    Sounds like your hubby is NaNoing? Tell him lots of luck from me! 🙂

  17. I lost an entire chapter yesterday! 1100 words+. I know, I know, back up, back up, and when in doubt back up again. Worked for IT in a past life, and yet… Now I am way behind. Hopefully I can crank it up this weekend. Will see.

  18. @ralfast – how horrible! And it only makes it worse when you know better. Don’t give up – you can still do it.

    @gypsyscarlett – this is my first visit to your site. I love it, have added you to my blogroll and will check in frequently. I was stuck in the Victorian writing era for years. Read and re-read everything by Dickens, and have well worn copies of Jane Eyre in English and in French, as well as a collection of Bronte’s. Somewhere along the line I got interested in the 20th century, but I still have a fondness for all things Victorian. Your novel idea sounds fascinating.

    Anyway – good luck everybody with nanowrimo!

  19. Hi Ralfast,

    Oh, no!

    Take some deep breaths, kick some walls if need be- and then get back to work.

    Try to look on the bright side. At least it was *only* 1100 words and not your whole manuscript.

    You can do it!!! (Sending you tons of positive energy)

  20. Nice to meet you, Uppington,

    Thank you so much! I always get giddy when people enjoy my blog. Unfortunately, with NaNo, I’m afraid this month probably won’t have as many new Victorian articles as I’d like, but have lots of ideas brewing.

    You mentioned reading Jane Eyre in French. Are you French? How was the translation?

    And also, much thanks for your encouragement for all us crazies doing NaNo. Are you also participating? Good luck with whatever you are working on! 🙂

    -Tasha
    p.s. Do you have a blog? If so, I’d like to check it out, but there was no link when I clicked on your name.
    p.p.s. never mind. I came across you on Colby’s site- and was able to get to your blog- which is now on my roll. 🙂

  21. I think that’s one reason I don’t NaNo. I’d be too worried about things like falling ill and not being able to make the word count.

    I know that part of it is competing against ourselves, rather than trying to achieve what may be an impossible goal given different writing speeds and difference circumstances for everyone. But I really don’t want to say that I started an undertaking and couldn’t finish. No one remembers the people who got halfway up Mount Everest and then fell down.

    Well, maybe if they fell all the way down.

  22. Hi Marian,

    I don’t think there’s any shame at not being able to complete NaNo or anything else. I think it’s the attempt and heart people put into something.

    One person might only get 30,000 words this month, but experience joy of shutting off their inner-editor for the month, plus learn to stick to a true writing schedule that will stay with them well past November. To me- that’s success.

    All that said- NaNo is definitely not for everyone. Everyone should do what is right for them. 🙂

  23. You’re right. I’m a bit of a perfectionist, so I feel bad if I attempt something but can’t deliver. It’s great to watch other people doing the literary marathon, though. 🙂

  24. Tasha, I always thought a link would magically appear when I left a wordpress comment, and people usually find their way back to my site okay. Now I am worrying about techno things…

    No, I am not French, LOL, but I was at one point trying to be Bilingual and I found that reading anything written in the French language was helpful, especially if it was a book I was already familiar with. I ran across the French translation of Jane Eyre, which was perfect – challenging, but familiar.

    Marian, Nanowrimo is designed with perfectionists in mind! Lock up the internal critic and just flow for once. Stuff always happens during November. One year my Significant Other got very ill – I remember sitting in the other room desperately typing, listening for sounds that he was awake and needed me. And last year, my young writer friend Joe, just 20, was in a car wreck that involved a few days in the ICU and a Life Flight. He was doing Nano, and actually pulled it off anyway! You could still join us, you know – it’s ok to bend the Nano rules. Set yourself a goal for something smaller – 30K, or 20, or even 10, and dive in! The water’s fine. Those fins you see circling around aren’t sharks, they aren’t, no, wait…. aaaaarrrrrgggghhhhhh!!!!

    Just kidding, of course. Happy weekend everybody.

    (uppington.wordpress.com) Just in case.

  25. Thanks Tasha. 🙂

  26. I was just looking back on these threads, when we posted how we had 8000 words, 9000 words — it’s so funny, because it seems like so long ago, but it wasn’t.

    I just love looking back!

    Write on, everyone! We’re doing it! : )

    NANO!

    Em

  27. Right back at you, Em! 🙂


Leave a Reply

