NaNo- Week One Report

Hey there,

So- the first week of NaNo has passed.  Word count: 18,955

I’m totally gushing now, because these  7 days have been a total blast.  Back in October,  I  posted about how much I wanted to return to the simple joys of writing when I was a kid.  Before I got caught in that web of, “I want to be published.  So I have to follow this rule and this rule but this other agent says don’t follow that rule, do it this way…ARGH!”

Well, NaNo came at the most perfect time.  I locked the inner editor in her closet and hid the key.  The story is flowing out of me.  Sure, the actual writing is horrid- but the story itself is tons of fun.  Not at all stilted like it felt when I spent eons trying to perfect one darn sentence at a time.

My novel has taken some interesting turns.  Now, instead of two protagonists- I have three.  A male character who had been written out in previous drafts has made a startling return.   My ghost who was twelve years -old  is now fifteen.   Instead of winter- it is now springtime.  I want the scenery to be as breathtaking as possible.  Lush greens in sharp contrast to the bleakness inside the household.

Today I had a ball with my fifteen year-old heroine (living- not the ghost) going to visit a Mesmerist.  And now she is searching the library because she thinks there is a secret passageway in there.

What are your heroines and heroes up to?

Hope you’re all having tons of fun.

Published in: on November 9, 2008 at 8:11 pm  Comments (17)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2008/11/09/nano-week-one-report/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So, are you writing a Victorian ghost story, then? That sounds very, very interesting! Glad you’ve found the fun of writing again…it’s a nice feeling, isn’t it?

    My characters (and who is a protag and who isn’t has changed recently) are embarking on a little trip through the area called the Borderlands, which is a literal border area between our world and “the next”. The two sort of overlap and blur together there. It’s turning out to be…an interesting experience, but a lot of fun.

  2. Sounds like a fun story! I’m glad you’re having a blast with it. My last book, I learned to turn off the inner editor and wrote a crappy – but totally fun – first draft.

    Now you’ve inspired me to start the new WIP I’ve been outlining. Good luck with NANO!

  3. Hey Jen,

    Thank you! Let’s hope the end project is as good as it sounds.

    Your WIP sounds like urban fantasy? I love that genre. With the talk of Borderlands, it reminds me of Emma Bull and Charles De Lint. Have you read their work?

    So glad you’re having fun, too. 🙂

  4. Hey Rachel,

    Thank you so much!

    Are you now revising/editing that last book?

    I’m so happy to hear you’ve been inspired to begin your new novel. Go, you- Go! 🙂

  5. Cracked the 10k barrier. Yes! Your story sounds interesting Tasha, I’ll have to read it was soon as it hits stores.

  6. My MC is currently dealing with quite the serious diagnosis…yuck!

  7. Hey Ralfast,

    Yeah!!! I’m so happy to hear you hit the 10 k. Good going.

    And thank you! But be careful what you say. I might just hold you to that. 🙂

  8. Hey Colby!

    Okay…you have piqued my interest. What yucky diagnosis?

  9. I’m second in line for your book, then. And you can hold me to it!

    Em : )

  10. Awwww. Bigs hugs to you, Em!!!

    You’d better believe I’m buying your book. ‘Course I’ll need you to sign my copy. 🙂

    I think of this often as we all encourage each other on our blogs. Won’t it be wonderful “when” (not if) we’re published and we can say we knew each other way back when. What a nice thing to look forward to!

  11. Tasha, I’ve already started the policy of reading books by published people whose blogs I stumble across – I figure, why wait? Inspiration is at my fingertips. So many of you people’s books sound fascinating… what is wrong with these agents?

    My characters: Brian has just been handed his estranged wife’s neglected baby because it’s legally his responsibility, although not his child, and he’s not happy about it. Christina has been cutting again, rather badly, but chose not to take the pills just yet. Ariel is adjusting to the fact that she’s in the wrong place and time and that the Divine Intervener who sent her here has really screwed up.

  12. Hi Uppington,

    Very interesting! Are Brian and Christina lovers-to-be? Or is Christina his teenage daughter? The presence of Ariel sounds like you are tackling some very dark subjects with a bit of supernatural humor.

  13. LOL – plenty of humor, supernatural and otherwise, but I suppose the subject matter is dark. I think Brian and Christina may be lovers-to-be, but there are powerful forces trying to keep them isolated and miserable.

  14. I’m still turtling along. I should hit 20K tonight. I’ve just set up my MC to disturb a burglar in her house. Will she scream or go cold and still with terror? I think she’ll try to brain him with her candlestick. She’s that kind of gal.

  15. Isn’t it great when new characters or seasons spring up? In my novel, I suddenly discoverd my MC had a sister! Egads. Glad you’re having a blast writing!

  16. Hey Mary,

    Good to hear from ya. I’ve checked your blog for updates but it’s been quiet, so I hoped that meant you were busy with your WIP. Glad to hear you are near 20K. Great!

    Go for the candlestick. Definitely the candlestick! 🙂

  17. Hi Nancy,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Agreed. It’s a good thing I love surprises because sometimes I doubt I have any control at all over my characters… 🙂


Leave a Reply

