NaNo- Passed the Finish Line

nano_08_winner_viking_120x238

Yeah!!  I received my winner’s badge this morning.    I wrote the last 500 words like a mad woman.  But I knew it would drive me even more crazy at work if it wasn’t finished.  So with minutes to spare before I’d miss my bus- I typed THE END, raced over to NaNo to validate it, and ran out the front door.

This month has been wonderful.  I did exactly what I set out to do:  The annoying inner-editor was banished.  Locked up in a closet with the key hidden.   I wrote the story I wanted to write.  Just like I used to.   Even the exhausting nights were exhilarating.

Part of me wants to take a couple of days off to rest my mind.  But another part of me is so excited to read through the draft and start on the revision.

One thing I do know is, now that I’ve rediscovered the pure joy of writing like I did as a kid- I refuse to lose it again.   Others may stress over  and debate adverbs/no adverbs, said/saidisms, the evil of exclamation points, etc.   I’ll be curled up in the corner having a blast writing my little oddities.

Anyhow- tons of congratulations to all who have finished.

Best of luck to those who are nearing the finish line.  You can do it!

And most of all- huge thanks to everyone who has come here and offered support and encouragement.  You all rock!

Fudge brownies for everyone.  🙂

Oh, and carrot cake  (yum!!)

Published in: on November 28, 2008 at 4:59 pm  Comments (32)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2008/11/28/nano-passed-the-finishing-line/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

32 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Woohoo! Congrats! That’s such a good feeling. 🙂

  2. Wow! Congrats! I’m still 10K shy of my goal. I may squeak by late on Sunday, if everything goes according to plan. I fear that I would have finished the book BEFORE reaching 50k!

  3. Hooray for you! I’m still about 8K short. Dunno if I’ll make it or not, but I’ll gladly take my brownie anyway. 🙂

  4. Hey Amy,

    Thanks so much! 🙂

    Glad the surgery was a success.(Well, uh, despite the horrid pain, that is!)

    I think I’m going to give Holly Lisle’s One-Revision a try. I’m sure 99% of my pages will be covered top to bottom in purple ink.

    Thanks again for posting that link.

  5. Hey Ralfast,

    I was actually just at your blog. If you finish the draft before hitting the 50 K- you could always write down ideas: characters that need to be developed more, scenes that need more sensory detail, etc.

    Best of luck to you! 🙂

  6. Hey Mary,

    Ah! What’s 8K after writing 42,000 words? You can do it!

    But either way, of course you get brownies! As many as you like. You worked your butt (actually your hands) off all frigging month. Pig out. Enjoy! You’ve earned treats 🙂

  7. Congratulations! Such a big accomplishment and wonderful feeling! Savor it 🙂

  8. Colby,

    Thanks a million! 🙂

  9. YAY! Congratulations! It’s a great feeling, isn’t it? It’s awesome that you were able to banish your inner editor and write the story you wanted to write, which is the whole point of the thing, IMO.

    Way to go!

  10. Hey there Jen,

    Thank you! 🙂 (hands you the plate of brownies)

    Yup. I’m more happy about reclaiming that writing joy than I am of having hit a certain number.

  11. Mucho congrats! I’m barely over halfway to 50K, clearly I’m not going to make it this year, so I guess you get my share of the brownies. Maybe next year!

  12. Hi Digital Dame,

    Everyone who comments on this post gets brownies. (hands you the plate) Take as many as you’d like…

    Don’t worry about not reaching the 50K. 25K is nothing to sneeze at. Just keep going every day until you have your draft completed. 🙂

  13. Congrats! I hope to cross the finish line today or tomorrow. See you in the winner’s circle.

  14. Congratulations! You NANOers amaze me!

  15. Hooray for Tasha! Woo Hoo! 2008 NaNoWriMo Winner!

    We did it, we did it, Hooray! (Thank you NaNoWriMo, for the magnificent journey!)

    I saw the title of *your* post and I walked around feeding animals the last hour with a big smile on my face, before I realized I hadn’t told you so here, lol! Congratulations, and big Wows!

    I myself did take yesterday off, and today, too. I’m very excited to get back to the story also, only I’m itching to start the second book in my series.

    I want to start the second novel, and also edit the first one simultaneously. It’s most likely do-able, too, after what NaNo showed me.

    I loved the writing every dayness of NaNo. But I’m also not minding a few days off for the holidays!

    Big *~*Congratulations*~* to you!!!!

    What are you doing to celebrate? : )

    Em

  16. Hey there C.J.,

    Thank you so much! I can’t wait to go over to your blog and see that you made it, too. 🙂

  17. Rachel,

    Thank you! I’m sure you can do it, too. Maybe you’ll join us in the craziness next year. 🙂

  18. Hiya Em,

    Awww! Thank you!

    Isn’t that a great thing regarding NaNo? Now, that you’ve written a 50K draft in a month, you know you can do anything you put your mind to.

    Much luck and blessings upon the second book.

    I actually hadn’t thought of celebrating per se. I’m saving that for when the revision is all done. But I would like to just relax, go out and see some nice art shows…just do things I haven’t been able to do while glued to the computer.

    here’s your brownies… 🙂

    -Tasha

  19. Congratulations, Tasha! Very well done. 🙂 It must be a wonderful feeling to know that you’ve accomplished the goal you set.

    I also have to say, your enthusiasm and energy have inspired me to the point where I’m thinking about trying NaNo in the future. I know that doesn’t sound like much of an inspiration, but for someone who typically writes 120K first drafts, it’s going to be an interesting experience to come up with an outline that can be done in 50K.

  20. Marian,

    Thank you so much! I’m really happy to hear that you’ve been inspired to consider NaNo next year.

    You mentioned here before of being a perfectionist. If nothing else, NaNo would be a great chance to just let yourself go, relax, throw caution to the wind, and go crazy for a month.

    And you don’t need to stop at 50K. A lot of people like to complete their draft so they can start revising in December. But you certainly don’t have to. You can validate it whenever you’ve reached the 50K, and then keep going if you wish.

    btw: I envy your long drafts. I often write too tight. I’d love to have chunks to cut. I guess the grass is always greener on the other side!

  21. 47,082 words and counting!

  22. Hey Tasha,

    My modus operandi is to send each chapter to my critiquer to read as soon as it’s hot off the presses. He’s pretty good at noticing what works and what doesn’t, and the knowledge that someone’s waiting for a chapter always helps motivate me.

    But it also means I can’t go completely wild. 🙂 I need an outline and an idea of where the story’s headed. If I stop halfway and scrap it completely, I’ve wasted someone else’s time as well as my own.

    So I think the way NaNo would work for me would be to do what you suggested: write the first fifty thousand words of one of my 120K cinderblocks, send the chapters off as they’re done and continue writing after November.

    That would be doable. I’d still be able to write intensively, but I’d also feel that I was writing one of my stories, rather than writing just to be able to say that I’d NaNoed. If that’s a word.

    Thanks for the good advice!

  23. Hey Tasha – Congratulations!!! I’ve been in the Land of No Internet for the holiday, so couldn’t check in ’til today. I sure hope you saved me a brownie. Wednesday morning I was at 49,300 words when I had to go to work. I took my laptop with me and finished after I got there, when nobody was looking!!! Hopefully my employer doesn’t read your Blog. I love writing the Nano way – it is fun, isn’t it? And it can be polished and perfected – the one I’m trying to market now was originally a Nanowrimo extravaganza.

  24. Way to go Ralfast! You’re so close. Imagine me waving virtual pom poms. I’ll be checking in later to read your success post. 🙂

  25. Hey Marian,

    That does sound like it would be a great motivator: having someone waiting for each chapter. I’m really glad it works for you. Unfortunately, it never would for me, because my first drafts usually run in all directions. I’d confuse the hell out of my poor critiquer.

    Sure, “nanoed” is a word. Same as “NaNoing”. I used that all month long. “My brain is fried from NaNoing.” “Oh, don’t mind me. I’m NaNoing.”

    Hmm…I should pretend I’m doing NaNo every month to excuse my scatterbrainess! 🙂

  26. Hey Uppington,

    Of course I saved brownies for ya! Take as many as you wish. Heh, no one seems to want any of the carrot cake. You people don’t know what you’re missing. Fine- more for me. 🙂

    Huge huge congrats on finishing NaNo. Yeah!!! Neat how you snuck it in during work. To be honest, I’d love it if it turned out your boss also read my blog. How funny and cool would that be? (well, for me at least. It certainly wouldn’t be for you if you got in trouble!)

    Yup- NaNo writing is a ton of fun. I think once this current one is revised, edited and all that…in the future, I’m going to write my next new novel draft in the same speed fashion. This really taught me not to procrastinate.

  27. Hooray! I crossed the finish line too!

    :helps self to brownies:

    Of course this novel still needs another 20K or so to finish. Can I do it in a week? Eep! Maybe.

  28. Count me in! 🙂

  29. Mary!

    I kept checking your blog yesterday to see if you’d posted any latest results. I KNEW you could do it!

    Yeah!!!!!!! (hurries off to bake more brownies) 🙂

  30. Hey Ralfast,

    Yeah!

    Good thing I just baked more brownies. Take your fill.

    Mucho congrats to you as well! You earned it. 🙂

  31. Congrats on your NaNo WIN!!! It is an amazing accomplishment…be proud, be ecstatic. 🙂

  32. Hey Bloggingexperiments,

    Thanks so much and nice to meet you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

