Proximidade Award

music playing: Imogen Heap’s, “Sweet Religion”

I woke up about 4:30, lulled in bed, and wondered what to blog about today.  What a sweet surprise to go online and discover I’d received an award from Unfocused Me:  http://theunfocusedlife.com/.

 Proximidade Award     award

“This blog invests and believes the PROXIMITY – nearness in space, time and relationships! These blogs are exceedingly charming. These kind bloggers aim to find and be friends. They are not interested in prizes of self-aggrandizement. Our hope is that when the ribbons of these prizes are cut, even more friendships are propagated. Please give more attention to these writers! Deliver this award to eight bloggers who must choose eight more and include this cleverly-written text into the body of their award.”

 How sweet!  Writing is such a solitary art and craft that it is invigorating to connect with other writers.   To speak (even if it’s only online) to those who understand  when you complain of character’s misbehaving, the inability to sleep because of  stories haunting you, and the joys and frustrations of turning sparks of ideas into full-length novels.

The bad thing about awards like this is who to award?  Obviously, I wouldn’t read your blogs if I didn’t love them; so please don’t feel neglected if I didn’t choose yours.  I immediately took off those Unfocused Me already awarded.  Then I figured I’d pick 6 blogs I’ve read for awhile now, and 2 new ones. 

So, here I award 8 bloggers who reach out to their fellow writers: 

1. The always gracious DD :  http://fillingspaces.wordpress.com/

2.  The sharp  Marian at Flights of Fantasy:  http://marianperera.blogspot.com

3. The always thoughtful Uppington:  http://uppington.wordpress.com/

4.  The exuberant Leftywritey:  http://emilymurdoch.wordpress.com/

5.  http://venusreinvented.blogspot.com/   I’m a new reader of this blog, but I am already impressed with her kindness and enthusiasm

6.  http://colbymarshall.blogspot.com/  Because Colby always makes me giggle.  And laughter keeps me sane.

7.  Jewel at http://pink-ink-pink.blogspot.com/ because she’s always kind.  And she writes horror! 

8. Lis’Anne at http://lisanneharris.wordpress.com/2009/03/  Another blog I am a new reader of.  I award her for being a great motivator.

Published in: on March 17, 2009 at 9:12 am  Comments (24)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2009/03/17/proximidade-award/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

24 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you, Tasha!

    So I’m sharp? That made me smile because my username on three different boards is “Queen of Swords”. Great choice of words on your part. 🙂

  2. Hey Marian,

    You’re welcome.

    Indeed, “sharp” was chosen with care and deliberation. Quite fitting for your honest, straightforward attitude. And your QOS alias. 🙂

    Although, you wouldn’t believe how long I was a reader of your blog before I realized who you were over at AW!

  3. Congrats on the award! 🙂

  4. Hey, congratulations to you – you deserve it! And thanks for thinking of me. Happy writing!

  5. How fun! Thank you, Astro Sis 🙂 And congrats to you!

  6. Hey Tasha,

    The QoS alias nearly caused a bit of trouble once.

    I’d emailed an online friend whom I met through AW. Of course, my email has my real name on it and I never thought to mention my handle. We chatted about agents and she asked if she could see my query letter. So I emailed it to her.

    Later she was browsing the Share Your Work forum and she came across the same query letter… except it was posted by someone called Queen of Swords. She was quite concerned about this – was Marian plagiarizing QoS or was it the other way around?

    Fortunately there was a link to my blog in my AW profile, and she realized that we’re the same person. No fears of plagiarism.

    Now I’m even more convinced I should mention the QoS handle on the blog. 🙂

    Thanks again for your kind words and the award!

  7. Jenna,

    Thanks! And I’m truly glad to have discovered your blog via DD. 🙂

  8. Uppington,

    Thank you! 🙂

  9. DD,

    It is fun, isn’t it? Even silly little awards have a way of brightening one’s day.

  10. Marian,

    You’re very welcome.

    And that’s a great story! 🙂

  11. Congrats on your award Gypsy! Woohoo!

  12. Hi Gypsy,

    Thank you for the award. I am touched by your words. That’s very sweet and I am pretty sure I am undeserving of half the praise.

    Congratulations on the award yourself as I know you deserve it and for giving me a reason to check out several new (well, new to me) blogs. Exciting! 🙂

    Venus

  13. Thanks gypsyscarlett! 🙂

  14. Jeez, you move fast, lady! Great choices. I only know a couple of your picks, and I’m looking forward to checking out the ones I’ve missed so far.

  15. Hey Nancy,

    Thank you! 🙂

  16. Heya Venus,

    You’re welcome. And enjoy the other blogs. 🙂

  17. Hey Jewel,

    You’re welcome! 🙂

  18. Hey Unfocused Me,

    Heh…I was quick because I needed a blog post topic for the day. This gave me a nice one. 🙂

  19. Gracias, mi amiga!

  20. Thanks, Gypsy! I hope I’m motivating someone! Congrats on receiving what looks to be a very deserving award. 🙂

  21. And thank you, Lis’Anne.

    That’s the great thing about blogrolls. I discovered yours, Jenna’s, Mary J’s, and more just through DD’s alone. 🙂

  22. Colby,

    De nada!

  23. I have previously pushed your blog on Short Story Library Forum and will be giving it another plug today in my review of fiction blogs at;

    http://hambocentral.blogspot.com/

    Glad to see I’m not the only one who likes your work

    dave

  24. Dave,

    Thank you so much! That really means a lot to me. How sweet!

    I look forward to reading more at your blog as well. 🙂


Leave a Reply

