Novel Update: Finished!

music playing:  Dvorak’s New World Symphony

The last few days I’ve been mostly offline as I revised (again!) and edited the last fifty-odd pages of my novel.   

 Now I can officially announce that on July 1, 2009  at 22:52 ,  I typed the words:  The End.  (I never typed those words on any of the drafts.  I wanted to save them for the final one)

Then I nearly fainted.  

This novel that I’ve been working on for so long- endless drafts, revisions, editing- is done.   Now all I have to do is wait to get feedback from my betas on these final chapters.  Meanwhile,  I’ll be working on my query letter and researching agents.

The realization that it was truly done,  hit when I took  my evening bath.  The last few weeks, no matter how nice and comfy I might have been soaking in the hot bubbles, I’d hear my characters screaming,  “Hurry up!  Get out of there and come finish writing our story!   You know you need to write more before we’ll let you go to sleep!”

Well, tonight- everything was eerily quiet.  (my mind isn’t used to quiet)  None of my characters called to me.  They’re satisfied.  Their story is done.

Portraits of the Living: A Ghost Story

fin!

 

 

Published in: on July 2, 2009 at 1:16 am  Comments (29)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2009/07/02/novel-update-finished/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

29 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am so happy, excited and thrilled for you! I know, just based on your posts and comments here and there, how hard you must have been working on getting to that “The End,” especially in refining those last few pages. Congratulations!! Enjoy your eerie quiet because I would bet anything there would be a new set of characters screaming for attention ere long. I say, celebrate! 🙂

  2. Yay! w00t! wohooo! and other suitable exclamations.

    That’s awesome.

    *iz grins happily*

  3. CONGRATULATIONS!!

    I just got my final FINAL final edits from my last LAST last beta and should have my wip agent-ready tomorrow. Assuming I can also get my synopsis into shape, I plan to start querying on Friday!

  4. Thank you so much, Venus!

    All your kind words throughout have meant so much to me. 🙂

    Heh heh. I already have several ideas in my head right now for my next novel. All of them are half-baked, so I’m going to see which one starts calling out to me the loudest.

    Only a writer looks forward to hearing voices. 😉

  5. Thank you so much Isaac!! 🙂

    I’ll be over your blog (and everyone else’s) later. I have some good blog reading to catch up on.

    For now, as it’s almost three a.m., I’m going to try to finally get some sleep.

  6. Melanie,

    Thank you!

    And mucho, mucho congratulations right back to you! That is so awesome. From reading your blog, I know how hard you’ve worked on your novel. I wish you all the best with the querying.

    You’ll succeed! 🙂

  7. Wurd!

    You RAWK! Congratulations, Astro Sis, that is just awesome. I’m so excited for you, what an accomplishement.

    As Venus said, enjoy the quiet while it lasts. Something tells me it won’t be long 😉

  8. Oy, “accomplishment”.

  9. Piercing screams, shouts from the rooftop, a carnival, a huge parade with marching bands with blindy-shiny brass sections, tons of confetti, a back handspring or three, and endless cartwheels of happiness for you!

    CoNgRaTuLaTiOnS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    So proud of you, so happy for you, and seriously believing in you and your writing.

    (Off I go to do more beta-ing, winks)

    HOORAY for you! : ) !

    Em

  10. YES! Congrats Tasha! Seems everybody in the greater AW circle writes with a similar rhythm. They start stories at nearly the same time, revise them and finish them as well.

    Again, congratulations!

    You deserve it.

  11. Thank you Astro Sis! 🙂

    And thanks a ton for all your support and encouragement since the day we first discovered our twin-ness.

    It’s a really good, (and totally strange) feeling to be done at last.

  12. ((((Em!)))))

    Mucho, mucho thanks!! You have been an incredible inspiration, supporter, and your pompoms are infectious.

    Let me know where the carnival is. 🙂

  13. Thank you so much Ralfast!!

    As with everyone else, I really appreciate all the encouragement you’ve shown me.

    You rock. (I even can ignore the fact that you despise Jane Eyre. 😉

  14. Congratulations! What an accomplishment. You should be very proud of yourself and definitely do something to celebrate!

  15. Thank you so much, Jenna! 🙂

  16. I am so happy for you! Congratulations! I wish you much success!

  17. CONGRATS!!!

    Those really arethe most wonderful words to type, aren’t they? Bittersweet and a little nerve-wracking and wonderful.

    Have some champagne!

  18. Thank you so much, Malanie!

    And I wish you all the best with the novel you are working on.

  19. Thank you, Amy!

    It was a delicious feeling to type those words. 🙂

  20. Hurray! I happen to have Em’s pom poms here, and am waving them about madly. I’m so excited for you. Here’s hoping the query process is swift and clean for you, and you find an agent match early on. Personally, I can’t wait to read this book.

  21. This is such a wonderful accomplishment! Hooray for you — and I can’t wait to read your book! 🙂

  22. Thank you SO much, Kelly! 🙂

    It’s pretty strange but exciting entering the query stage. I feel ready for it, whatever may come.

  23. I am so thrilled for you! What a HUGE achievement. gypsyscarlett, your book will be wonderful and I join the queue to read it. You are ready for anything, stay in the great optimistic and inspired place you have created. Love to you.

  24. Uppington,

    THANK YOU!!! You do a rocking Em impersonation. 🙂

    I’m so glad that I started this little blog and thereby got to meet all of you. I’m inspired by all of your hard work and effort, and encouraged by everyone’s kindness and support.

  25. Kateri,

    Awwwww. Thank you so much!!!

    I promise to stay optimistic no matter what, no matter how long it takes. I’m quite the stubborn Leo in that regard. 😉

  26. Congratulations, Tasha! Writing feels great, of course, but there’s also something special about typing the words “THE END” and stepping back, tired and satisfied, to look at what you have created.

    Very pleased for you. 🙂

  27. Marian,

    Thank you so much! And you’re right about the stepping back part. It’s a really nice feeling to finish something that one worked so hard on.

  28. Congratulations!

  29. Thank you so much, Unfocused Me! 🙂


Leave a Reply

