Portraits of the Living: A Ghost Tale- characters

music playing:  Stevie Nicks,  Nightbird

Things are very exciting right now.  I have a full out on POTL (whispers this as not to upset the Fates), and have started researching and taking notes on my next supernatural suspense novel.  Before blogging about the new novel,  I wanted to write a couple of posts regarding Portraits, which will then be put together in a separate page.

The first is the novel’s cast of characters:

1.  Anne Durrant:  fifteen-years-old, imaginative, clever,  intelligent, yet often foolish.   Definitely not as sensible as she believes.   Booksmart, but has a lot to learn about the dangers of real life. Her insatiable curiosity is both her greatest asset and her worst, for it might get her killed. . .

2. Daphne Hoffman Stowe: thirty two- years-old, married, highly intelligent, poised, and stoic.  Loves science, history, and linguistics.   Despite her scientific leanings,  she is addicted to having her fortune read.  Fears an ominous reading from a Gypsy. . .

3.  Beth Hoffman:  Daphne’s younger sister.   The reticent spinster loves art, poetry, tarot cards, and waxen dolls. . .

4.  Gerard Hoffman:  Anne’s uncle.  Father to Daphne and Beth.  Scholar of the Occult.  What does he do in his study?

5.  Sheridan Stowe:  Daphne’s husband.   Uses his charm to get away with his drinking and gambling.  What does he feel guilty about?

6.  Grace Cullwick: the utterly devoted house maid.  The only servant who remained after an exorcism went frighteningly wrong.   Tender to her “family”, she is cold to all outsiders.

7.  Mr. Raferat:   Family friend.  Retired anthropologist.  Studies the occult.  Larger-than-life world traveler who relishes good stories and obscure facts.

8.  Mrs. Brent:  Widow.  Not-so-discreet lover of Mr. Raferat.  Devoted Spiritualist.  Overbearing and a bit daft, but with a great heart.

9.  Mary- the young servant girl who haunts the Hoffmans’ house.

Who are the characters in your novel?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2009/07/12/portraits-of-the-living-a-ghost-tale-characters/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

23 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Science and the Occult meet head on?

    Cool concept.

  2. Interesting concept
    Have you read: The secret history of the world / Jonathan Black

  3. Wow, this sounds awesome in the truest sense of the word! Can I get a signed copy when it’s published?? 🙂

    @ralfast: check out the original “House on Haunted Hill” from 1963. In it a scientist tries to prove the existence of ghosts, but he’s skeptical enough and not easily impressed with the weird goings on in the house. “The supernatural isn’t supposed to happen, but it does happen.”

    As far as my characters, they’re still in flux. I’m about to add what I think will turn out to be a fairly major character, but I’m still working on him. I do envision more than just a temporary role for him, however. I’m still researching the locale, which is consuming a lot of time.

  4. Congrats on the full!!

  5. Hey Ralfast,

    The science and occult don’t really meet head on, per se. There was so much interest in both at that time, which I wanted to reflect through my characters. I mention some movements and such, hopefully to ground the reader in the 1850s.

    But the science and occult aspects aren’t pitted against each other or anything like that.

  6. Hi Elizabet,

    Nice to meet you, and thanks!

    I haven’t read the book, but the title sounds familiar.

  7. Thanks D D! 🙂

    Hah! You know you’re getting a signed copy. (*whispers to the Gods of Writing*- please, please, please)

    I just wanted to clarify, did you mean, “House on Haunted Hill” with Vincent Price, or “The Haunting” (the film based off Shirley Jackson’s “Haunting of Hill House”) ?

    I remember how excited you were when you discovered the locale for your novel. Glad to hear it’s coming along.

  8. Thank you so much, Melanie!

    No matter what happens with it (I’m well aware of the odds),at least I know my query is good enough to gather some interest. So, that’s a start. 🙂

  9. Right, sorry, The Haunting. Somehow I always want to confuse those titles.

  10. That’s great news on the full. Congrats! And that’s great that you’re jumping right in and starting a new book. 🙂

  11. Thank you, Jenna! 🙂

  12. What terrific characters! No doubt they’ll have a good story to tell.

  13. Thank you, Patricia! 🙂

    I hope they do.

  14. Sounds really cool!

    My favorite character right now is Parker, protag’s love interest and basically all around awesome guy!

  15. Thanks, Colby! 🙂

    Can’t wait to hear more about Parker. Hope your writing is going well.

  16. Tasha, that’s great news about the full! Fingers crossed!

    Your characters sound fascinating, and just by reading about them I get the feeling that this story is nice and darkly creepy.

    Right now my favorite character is Jack McEacheron from my current WIP: father of my MC, ex-con, quick with a fist, not big on words, and not entirely human. He’s fun to write.

  17. Gypsy, Congratulations on the full!! That is incredible news. Keeping my fingers crossed for better news still. Those characters sound fascinating! Reading it gave me a brief glimpse into what might be and left me wanting more.

    One of my favorite characters at the moment is Joe. An old, time-worn, unassuming shop keeper in a little town whose shabby surroundings hide a secret about his colorful past. Most of my major characters have that public and secret persona so they are all favorites in one way or another. I am hopelessly attached to my characters! 🙂

  18. Thanks so much, Amy!

    “Darkly creepy” was my aim- so I hope you’re right. 🙂

    Your character does sound cool. And the, “not entirely human” is quite intriguing!

  19. Thank you so much, Venus! 🙂

    I hoped some would find the character descriptions enticing.

    And you’ve left me wondering about Joe. It’s wonderful when you get attached to characters and can’t wait to sit down and write about them. I’m so happy for you.

  20. Great news gypsyscarlett, a full! The book sounds amzing and weirdly familiar… I felt like I was somewhere there. Where was it set? You create atmosphere and intrique so well .x

  21. Oh, thank you so much Kateri! You just made me smile. It takes place in early 1850s New England.

  22. They sound so vivid from the descriptions! I already have images in my mind for them.

    Congrats on the full request too!

    I’m still working on the characters for my new novel. I’m sure I’ll post a brief description for them on my blog when the time comes…

  23. Dara,

    That made me smile that you were able to envision my characters. And thank you for the nice words regarding the request, too. 🙂

    I’m looking forward to reading about your characters when you are ready to post them on your blog.


Leave a Reply

