Writing Update: Faery Oracle: Luathas the Wild

This morning I closed my eyes, shuffled the Faeries Oracle deck, and withdrew Luathas the Wild.

“Luathas the Wild is filled with fire, and fire is associated with the creative life force.  This faery fires us up, gets us going, recharges our batteries and creative energies.  He likes to be around when things are exciting, when there is life force blazing high and he can jump in and encourage it to burn even higher.  Creation and passion are his bailiwick.”- from Brian Froud’s, The Faeries’ Oracle.

It is difficult to think of a more fitting card at this moment.  As I wait to hear back on my requests for Portraits of the Living: A Ghost Tale, my passion is soaring as I research for my next novel which takes place in the late 19th century.   During the last week, I have passionately (or obsessively- like any true Rising Scorpio) been studying up on issues which will be dealt with:  murder and how crime was investigated back then, 19th century asylums, the daily house life and fashions of the 1890s…

As I take notes, the creative side of my mind is twirling with ideas.

It is indeed a fun, wild time when it comes to my writing.

What is in the cards for you and your writing?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/writing-update-faery-oracle-luathas-the-wild/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

20 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A the transition period between works. Feels great, doesn’t it.

    I’ve been on a research binge myself, the subject: Ancient Mediterranean and Pre-Christian cultures of Europe (and deities). I’m working on a (possible) fantasy series and want to give it a bit more variety than the standard Castles & Knights fare.

  2. Ralfast,

    It does feel great- the brewing of ideas. Everything is fresh and new. It especially feels good after how long I spent revising Portraits.

    Regarding your WIP- I love ancient Mediterranean history. Have fun with your continued research! 🙂

  3. I’m not looking for exacting historical data, just things that will color the mono myth behind the current historical arc. I just don’t want to splash generic titles on regions like “Egyptian”, “Roman”, “Germanic” etc. Instead mining the research for ideas. After all this is a fictional world and a certain level of pseudo-historical blending is expected.

    I fact I hit on the idea of creating a series of rituals which don’t really have historical analogies (at least no direct ones) but that give me a certain level of freedom such as the Ritual of Welcome in the Island of Arkos, which creates a sharp distinction between the areas under Male and Female control (within a marriage).

    Married men are known as Masters of the Field, for they control all things outside of the Home but married women are known as Mistress of the Home, so that they control all aspect of the House/Home. Thus a married man MUST announce his presence before entering the house and failure to please the Mistress means sleeping with the chickens. This division is so important that crimes against the Mistress of the Home (such as rape) rate in severity with Treason!

    That’s just a taste of what I’m working on right now. I’ll post more on my blog during the week.

  4. This post made me smile even though the subject of your research is crime and asylums because there is so much spirit and fire in it. 🙂

    At my end, I started a new play today called Death in Utopia. It is about a suicide in an idyllic island boasting of the mythic peace of Utopia which brings a dissolution of society and raises a very important question about what really constitutes peace.

    My main research is in how to write a play. Since the book is mostly a work of fantasy I am not too concerned with the setting or the characters but this is my first time writing a play so I am reading some books on playwrights.

    Your murder and mayhem sounds fascinating, and with fashion too!

  5. I think it’s fantastic that you’re diving into your next project with so much gusto. It sounds really intriguing, you must be having a blast with that research.

    Not much to report here, hardly written a word for over a week. Definitely in a slump.

  6. I’ve been looking at old files in a couple of my computers. I was surprised by some of the stories I’d started and not finished. They were pretty good!! I need to do something with them.

  7. Hey Ralfast,

    Your WIP really does sound interesting. I can’t wait to hear more about it.

    What is particularly interesting is the fact that it seems the men and women of that world are on equal footing- just in different spheres.

  8. Hey Venus,

    Yes- I do get all fiery when I get into a subject! 🙂

    But the articles and first-hand accounts I’ve been reading on asylum conditions in those times are truly appalling. I was literally shuddering more than once.

    That is so wonderful that you are writing a play. What books are you reading on the subject? My uncle is a playwright in Canada. If you ever have any specific questions, I could always ask him for you.

  9. Thanks DD!

    Jumping into the new novel is just what I need now. I don’t want to sit around wondering about what agents are thinking in regards to Portraits. That’s the way to insanity. Much better to keep focused on work.

    Sorry you’re in a slump. My suggestion: sit down and just write anything. Even if it’s nonsensical. Just the act of sitting down and typing stirs the creative juices.

  10. Hey Patricia,

    Working with older stories can be a lot of fun. 🙂

  11. Patricia, I have stories like that too. Actually I’ve pulled a story out of my files that I started on a year or so back and will complete for a submission later this year.

    I’ve seen that Faeries Oracle deck in stores. May have to pick that one up at some point. 🙂

  12. Good grief. Literally.

    I thought this would be fun to try, so I went to one of those Tarot cards online sites, picked the Rider-Waite deck (I’m traditional) and drew one card.

    It’s the Five of Cups. “Suffering a loss and wishing for what might have been. Being crippled by sadness, grief, and vain regret. Indecision brought on by the feeling that you made the wrong choice. Ignoring what you still have. May suggest a broken relationship or tragedy. May also suggest a gift, inheritance, opportunity, partnership, or marriage, but one that falls below expectations.”

    *kicks a pebble*

  13. Yes, as far as Arkos is concerned. Like I said I wanted to have a semblance of equality without injecting undo modernity into the work and breaking the fantasy atmosphere.

  14. Jenna,

    I think you’d like the Faeries’ Oracle. I don’t use it for fortune telling, but rather for emotional insight.

  15. Marian,

    I’m sorry, but have to admit that totally cracked me up. Hope your day wasn’t as bad as that card foretold!

  16. Tragic that I’ve missed so much, being mostly … elsewhere … these past few months. Congratulations on finishing your book and getting it out there!

  17. Hi Edward,

    Nice to see hear from you. Hope you had a good time “elsewhere”. 😉

    And thank you so much!

  18. Hey Gypsy, I answered your question on my favorite playwrights on my blog. I love plays, both reading and watching them played out on stage and some of my favorites are Tennessee Williams and Shakespeare (the more traditionalists), Brecht and Beckett (more unorthodox) and finally, Rabindranath Tagore, and Indian playwright/poet/novelist who wrote some amazing satires.

    I am currently reading Brecht On Theater to get me in the mindset while I scan amazon reviews for recommendations on some more education books on writing a play. If you have nay suggestions let me know. That’s great about your uncle in Canada being a playwright — sadly, I don’t have any writers in my family so I may take you up on your offer to bother him sometime. Thanks for the offer. 🙂

    PS: To Marian – I couldn’t help but read that carried and laugh. I am so sorry. Not a nice card!

  19. Goodness, I can’t type when I am distracted. My head is too full of the play. Hope I made sense. (and=an, nay=any, carried=card)

  20. Hey Venus and Tasha,

    No, the day wasn’t as bad as the card made it out to be. 🙂 But I think that’s one reason I just admire the cards rather than ascribing a deeper meaning to them.


Leave a Reply

