All NaNos’ Eve

October 31st. 

All Hallows’ Eve.  The night when the veil between this world and the Otherworld is lifted, and spirits come to visit.  The night when people honor their dearly departed with lit candles and dumb suppers.  Men and women hold hands around tables across the world to call upon the dead.  Girls gaze in mirrors to see the faces of their future husbands.  Children bob for apples and play Trick or Treat. 

For some, Halloween is a solemn occasion.  For others, it is Samhain, the Celtic New Year.   The beginning of the dark time of year.  The time of ends, and new beginnings.   And for others, it is simply a fun time of sticky sweet candy and staying up late watching Bela Lugosi.

And then, for a small group of quite nutty (but harmless) others, it is the beginning of a fervent time called, NaNo. 

Yes.  National Novel Writing Month is here again.

I did my first NaNo in ’07.  My second in ’08.  Everyone has their own reasons for participating.  Mine was to teach me discipline.  I wanted to approach writing as a professional.  I wanted to develop the discipline to sit down at the keys when I didn’t feel like it and when the Muse was off shopping for a new dress.  In that, I succeeded.  Ever since I won my first Nano- writing everyday  has become a natural part of my life and I’m pleased with the results of such effort.

So today, I wondered- Why am I doing NaNo again?   What lesson can I gleam from it this year?  And then the answer came: abandonment.  I want to stop thinking so much of the novel I have out on submission.  I want to simply write and have fun.

So, here’s to 3o days of wildly clicking away at the keys.  Total banishment of evil inner editors.  No reading professional blogs about the dire state of the publishing world.  I’m going to write in total, wonderful, ignorant bliss.

For those of you doing NaNo- what are your reasons?

And Happy Halloween, everyone!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2009/10/31/all-nanos-eve/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

19 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We are all gearing up for NaNo. Let the insanity begin!

    🙂

  2. Starts in seven hours here in Germany. 🙂

  3. I signed up for many of the same reasons you did: discipline, letting go and just going for it. And I wanted to see if I could do it. I could use a refresher course on the discipline, I’ve been backsliding lately. I also want to jump-start the prequel to the novel I was working on before my vamp novel swooped in and took over my life.

    Blessed Samhain, and happy NaNo’ing!

  4. Good luck, DD! And Happy Samhain to you!

  5. […] All-Hallows Eve. […]

  6. Good luck to you, Tasha! I can never get the timing right: I’m always mid-novel in November, for some reason. But I’ll be following all you NaNoers, and using it as motivation to get at least 35K in on my own WIP.

    And happy Samhain to all. 🙂

  7. Hey Amy!

    Heh. I just finished leaving a comment over at your blog. 🙂

    Happy Samhain to you, and good luck reaching 35 K on your WIP.

  8. Good luck with your NaNo GypsyScarlett! What a great undertaking that is. Have a beautiful day.

  9. Thank you so much, Kateri!

    I hope all is well with you. 🙂

  10. YAY!!! Enjoy the mad abandon!

    My book’s ROLLING again now after that squelching wrestling I had to do with it earlier. So no outside things for me now. But I’ll be watching you 🙂 🙂

  11. The first time I did NaNo I didn’t think I could write and work full-time. NaNo showed me I could and get 50,000 words written to boot.

    I like doing it because of the focus, the discipline and the fun of writing with others. And the unexpected turns that can happen when trying to write 50,000 words in a month! 🙂

  12. Have never done NaNo just because I’m not into the hype, but if I DID do it, it would be for the same reason…to write something I normally wouldn’t write, take a little adventure from normal genre, maybe…

    Best of luck! Have fun!

  13. I knew you would get over that bump, Sput. You have the necessary commitment to your writing.

    Hope this weekend is going well for you. 🙂

  14. Same here, Jenna!

  15. Thanks so much, Colby!

  16. Heh – I’ve been so far behind in my blog reading (Google Reader has given up counting unread posts in my subscription feed) that I didn’t realize until now you were NaNoing. I just added you as a writing buddy. Good luck!

  17. Thank you, Unfocused Me. I’ll add you as a buddy.

    Good luck to you, too!

  18. There is no way I could have attempted it with my renovation and daughter. I hope it all went well for you and you achieved your goal. xx

  19. Hi Josephine,

    Thank you very much. I did meet my goal.

    I hope all is going well with you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

