Poems by Tyutchev

Fyodor Tyutchev:  Russian Romantic poet. 

 November 23, 1803- July 15, 1873

Silentium!

Speak not, lie hidden, and conceal
the way you dream, the things you feel.
Deep in your spirit let them rise
akin to stars in crystal skies
that set before the night is blurred:
delight in them and speak no word.
How can a heart expression find?
How should another know your mind?
Will he discern what quickens you?
A thought, once uttered, is untrue.
Dimmed is the fountainhead when stirred:
drink at the source and speak no word.
Live in your inner self alone
within your soul a world has grown,
the magic of veiled thoughts that might
be blinded by the outer light,
drowned in the noise of day, unheard…
take in their song and speak no word.
                                                                                  -Fyodor Tyutchev

 

All Day She Quiet Lay

 

All day she quiet lay, lost in a trance,
The closing shadows all of her embracing…
The madcap rain of summer frisked and pranced,
At leaves it drummed, down garden paths went racing.And slowly, slowly she revived and sought
To hear its voice, its warm and merry patter.
Withdrawn she lay, plunged deep in conscious thought,
And listened to the rushing, singing water.Then suddenly she sighed and spoke; I heard…
(I was alive, alive through force of habit)
The softly whispered, simple, broken words:
“O how I loved it all, O how I loved it!”You loved… To love so well none ever durst…
Then, even such love fades, to be it ceases…
To watch you die, and live! How did my heart not burst,
Not break, O God, into a thousand pieces!-Fyodor Tyutchev      

                                                                                                

 
Published in: on November 24, 2009 at 2:57 pm  Comments (9)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2009/11/24/poems-by-tyutchev/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful. I especially love the second one.

  2. I love poetry but I was not familiar with this poet. Thank you for introducing some of his work to me. The poems are lovely.

    And major congrats on making your goal of 50,000 words in a month for NaNo! That’s fantsatic! 🙂

  3. Hi Amy,

    Glad you liked them.

    And Happy Thanksgiving to you! 🙂

  4. Hey Jenna,

    To be honest, I wasn’t familiar with his work either. I did a search the day I posted this to see what famous people had been born on said day, and his name came up. So he’s a new discovery for me, too!

    Happy Thanksgving; and thank you regarding NaNo. 🙂

  5. Hi gypsy,

    Thanks for sharing this! I haven’t read poetry seriously in many years but his name sounds familiar. I used to read various German and Russian poets (in translation, of course.) It may be time I revisited that, and some of my old domestic favorites too.

  6. Hi Edward,

    I’m glad you liked the poems. I haven’t read too much German or Russian poetry. I have read some of Goethe’s poetry which is wonderful.

    Did you have any particular favorite German or Russian poets?

  7. Hi gypsy,

    I don’t remember the title but I once had an anthology of modern German poetry (approximately 1870 -1970) with facing German and English pages. It’s been at least twenty years since then, and the only name I recall was Georg Heym. I remember enjoying the whole book, though.

    Among Russian poets, I read plenty of Yevtushenko after discovering his famous “Babi Yar”, set to music as part of Shostakovich’s 13th Symphony.

  8. Lovely poems, Gypsy!

  9. Glad you like them, Colby. 🙂


Leave a Reply

