Booklist update

Just a quick note that my “Reading in German Booklist” Page has been updated.

 Scene from the 1945 film version of, And Then There Were None

Published in: on January 29, 2010 at 8:43 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2010/01/29/booklist-update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. No English booklist? 😛

    There is so many great Victorian & Gothic books out there I think you need to start a list of the best of them. But thats just an opinion.

  2. Hey Chastiser,

    I actually do plan to make a Page listing some of my favorite 19th c. lit novels in the future. I’m waiting, because there are still so many I haven’t read. Who knows what lesser known gems I may discover? 😉

    My German booklist is different- it’s not favorites. Just what I’m currently reading.

    Thanks for sharing your idea with me, and for stopping by. 🙂

  3. heehee….kind of love that you have a Germna booklist 😉

  4. Heya Colby,

    I figured it’s something different. 🙂

  5. There is so many great 19th c. book out there, the lanugage was so beautiful and I think you will end up putting all the books you read on the list 😛

  6. Hey Chastiser,

    No doubt! It is my favorite time period for literature. I’ve been a 19th c. junkie ever since I can remember. 🙂

    What are some of your favorite books/novelists from that era?

  7. I’m only knew to discovery so I’ve got heaps to write; which I’m looking forward to 😀

    But so far;
    Frankenstein (my all time favourite)
    Dr Jekyll Mr Hyde (but best Robert Louis Stevenson was his short story Markheim)
    Dracula (of Course)
    Arthur Conan Doyle’s books are great

    About to read; Wuthering Heights

    As for poetry there is too many to pick, I love the romantics and my favourite would be Keats’ Ode on Melancholy

  8. You’re reading Wuthering Heights next? Cool! Anyone who spends over 5 minutes at my blog can probably gather that’s my fave book of all time. 😉
    Let me know what you think of it afterwards. People seem to either love it or hate it, with little in between.

    Frankenstein is awesome. I know a lot of people argue if it’s gothic horror or the first sci-fi. While it has elements of both in it, I’ve always thought of it as a tragedy. I feel so damn bad for the “Monster”.

    Dracula and Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde are great, too.

    This is the second time you’ve mentioned, Markheim. You have me quite curious about that. Will definitely read it when I have a chance.

  9. The thing that I love about Frankenstein and Markheim for that matter, is there is this beautiful reflection on society in the stories.

    In Frankenstein you have the monster that wants to belong and everyone denies him that, its like been judged for being different. (I believe people that are different should be celebrated, since they stand up and say ‘I’m unique’)

    And in Markheim so have a story of a guy that does something wrong and he meets a stranger who could possible the devil or an angel or even an imaginary person. But he has a beautiful conversation about his mistake and the consequences of his actions.

    I do know that Wuthering Heights is your favourite book and its been on my list to read for quiet some time, I just decided to read it next to see what all the fuss is about 😛


Leave a Reply

