Rilke: “Ask yourself in the most silent hour of your night: must I write?”

 

File:Rilke, 1900.jpg

In 1902, the great German lyric poet, Rainer Maria Rilke, received a letter from a young military student named,  Franz Kappus, who inquired whether his enclosed poems were of any merit.  They would go on to correspond for the next six years.   After Rilke’s death, Kappus assembled the ten letters and published, “Letters to a Young Poet” in 1929.

Rilke responded to the first letter on January 17, 1903.  In the letter, after criticizing, ” … that your verses have no style of their own, although they do have silent and hidden beginnings of something personal….Nevertheless, the poems are not yet anything in themselves, not yet anything independent, even the last one and the one to Leopardi. Your kind letter, which accompanied them, managed to make clear to me various faults that I felt in reading your verses, though I am not able to name them specifically.”

Rilke went on to advise, “You ask whether your verses are any good. You ask me. You have asked others before this. You send them to magazines. You compare them with other poems, and you are upset when certain editors reject your work. Now (since you have said you want my advice) I beg you to stop doing that sort of thing. You are looking outside, and that is what you should most avoid right now. No one can advise or help you – no one. There is only one thing you should do. Go into yourself. Find out the reason that commands you to write; see whether it has spread its roots into the very depths of your heart; confess to yourself whether you would have to die if you were forbidden to write. This most of all: ask yourself in the most silent hour of your night: must I write? Dig into yourself for a deep answer. And if this answer rings out in assent, if you meet this solemn question with a strong, simple “I must,” then build your life in accordance with this necessity; your while life, even into its humblest and most indifferent hour, must become a sign and witness to this impulse. Then come close to Nature. Then, as if no one had ever tried before, try to say what you see and feel and love and lose.

…write about what your everyday life offers you; describe your sorrows and desires, the thoughts that pass through your mind and your belief in some kind of beauty – describe all these with heartfelt, silent, humble sincerity and, when you express yourself, use the Things around you, the images from your dreams, and the objects that you remember. If your everyday life seems poor, don’t blame it; blame yourself; admit to yourself that you are not enough of a poet to call forth its riches; because for the creator there is not poverty and no poor, indifferent place.

…What else can I tell you? It seems to me that everything has its proper emphasis; and finally I want to add just one more bit of advice: to keep growing, silently and earnestly, through your while development; you couldn’t disturb it any more violently than by looking outside and waiting for outside answers to question that only your innermost feeling, in your quietest hour, can perhaps answer…

…A work of art is good if it has arisen out of necessity. That is the only way one can judge it. So, dear Sir, I can’t give you any advice but this: to go into yourself and see how deep the place is from which your life flows; at its source you will find the answer to the question whether you must create. Accept that answer, just as it is given to you, without trying to interpret it. Perhaps you will discover that you are called to be an artist. Then take the destiny upon yourself, and bear it, its burden and its greatness, without ever asking what reward might come from outside. For the creator must be a world for himself and must find everything in himself and in Nature, to whom his whole life is devoted…”

*****

Rilke’s poem, “The Panther” in English and the original German:

His gaze has grown too weary from the passage
Of bars to hold a thing now or respond.
It seems there are a thousand bars around him,
A thousand bars without a world beyond.

Revolving in the very smallest circle,
The sleekly powered footsteps’ mellowed stride
Is like a dance of strength about a center
Wherein a mighty will stands stupefied.

Only at times the pupil’s soundless curtain
Is reeled away, letting an image start
Inward through the taut silence of his sinews
And come to nothing in the heart.

Original German:

  • Sein Blick ist vom Vorübergehn der Stäbe
    so müd geworden, daß er nichts mehr hält.
    Ihm ist, als ob es tausend Stäbe gäbe
    und hinter tausend Stäben keine Welt.
  • Der weiche Gang geschmeidig starker Schritte,
    der sich im allerkleinsten Kreise dreht,
    ist wie ein Tanz von Kraft um eine Mitte,
    in der betäubt ein großer Wille steht.
  • Nur manchmal schiebt der Vorhang der Pupille
    sich lautlos auf -. Dann geht ein Bild hinein,
    geht durch der Glieder angespannte Stille –
    und hört im Herzen auf zu sein.
  • Advertisements

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2010/04/17/rilke-ask-yourself-in-the-most-silent-hour-of-your-night-must-i-write/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    16 CommentsLeave a comment

    1. Art comes from within, an interesting piece of advise.

    2. What an incredible letter, astonishing advice. I’ve never really read Rilke, I’ll have to fix that. And what an incredibly lucky man Kappus was to have Rilke respond to him with such insight.

    3. Oh, you KNOW how I love Rilke! Does this mean you’re going to grab dear Rainer for an upcoming swing through German lit? 🙂

      Did ya know his mom named him Renee Maria and used to dress him up in girl’s clothes? He changed his first name himself.

      Rainer… Divine. My fave poet.

    4. “Then take the destiny upon yourself, and bear it, its burden and its greatness, without ever asking what reward might come from outside. For the creator must be a world for himself…”

      Oh, man. That letter makes me want to write something much nicer than I have so far.

    5. Hey Ralfast,

      I’ve always believed that. 🙂

    6. Hi DD,

      I know. He was so kind to take the time to write such a thoughtful letter. And then to keep up the correspondence.

      btw- listening to The Score now. 🙂

    7. Sputsie!

      I must thank you for getting me into Rilke! He’s sublime.

      I have read that about his mom dressing him like that. Poor kid! Can you imagine the teasing he must have suffered through? Yikes!

      Since April is German pulp novel reading month for me, I think either May or June will be Rilke month. 🙂

    8. Hey Amy,

      It is so inspiring! 🙂

    9. Oh good! I listened today, too. Drop Edmund a note, he’ll be thrilled to know he’s got listener(s) in Germany 🙂 I left a comment on the Facebook page, he’s always kind enough to respond when I’ve e-mailed or left a comment on FB.

    10. “Ask yourself in the most silent hour of your night: must I write?”

      I would say it’s hard not too, those silent hours are always when I write best.

      I love that quote & the advise he gave. I need to read more Rilke!

    11. DD,

      I shall! 🙂

    12. Heya Chazz,

      It seems most writers work best either in the very early morning and/or late at night.

      I hope you enjoy Rilke! 🙂

    13. I work best at night, and even better when I’m brooding or full of angst.

    14. I can’t believe I literally just encouraged someone to study German. Knowing what I know from you! (I feel like Liz Bennett thinking back on Mr Wickham.) But the other choice was French.

      There was no competition.

      🙂 “Think of Rilke,” I cried, and off he ran to sign up for the language. Despite, I suspect, never having heard of Rilke before. 🙂

    15. Sorry I’ve been so MIA for so long! But this is definitely something I’ve never seen before, but I should be more open to reading different things. I tend to get stuck in trends I like and don’t branch enough.

    16. Colby!!! There you are! 🙂 Great to hear from you. I’ve missed reading your blog. Hope everything has been okay- and glad you’re back.


    Leave a Reply

