A Mad Tea Party of Characters

Not so very long ago, I begged the question of which authors you’d invite to a tea party.  Now inspired by a discussion over at the fabulous Filling Spaces blog, I present the ten characters from novels that I’d invite to a tea party.

As with any list, this proved to be a challenge.  One, it’s hard to narrow down thousands of great fictional characters. Two, while I may love to read about a certain character, it doesn’t mean that I would want, let’s say Cathy or  Heathcliffe over for Earl Grey and scones.

But anyhow, without further ado:

1. Miss Jane Marple:  the white-haired,  perceptive, ever-knitting spinster.   She could relate firsthand her experiences at the Caribbean, Bertram’s Hotel, or how she discovered who killed the body that was found in the library.

2. Hercule Poirot:  I would love to watch the fussy, eccentric man with the “little grey cells” trade stories with the quiet yet sharp Marple.

3.  Nanny Ogg- she can bring something she baked from her The Joye of Snackes.  And can regale us with her infamous rendition of, The Hedgehog Can Never Be Buggered At All. 

4. Granny Weatherwax:  Nanny’s best friend.   Nanny, is by the way, probably the only friend Granny has.

Modern,” said Granny Weatherwax, with a sniff. “When I was a gel, we had a lump of wax and a couple of pins and had to be content. We had to make our own enchantment in them days. — from Wyrd Sisters

5.  Frankenstein’s Monster- yes, that poor soul who was cast out into the world alone, who taught himself how to read, who was continuously spurned by everyone- would have a welcome seat at my table.

6. The Crow Girls from the Newford novels by Charles de Lint.  The twins live in trees, eat candy for breakfast, love the scent of bacon, and wield switchblades.  Sure, I’d have to keep an ever present eye on them as they don’t understand the concept of stealing, but they are so full of utter joy that they’d be a must.

7.  Count Fosco- the tea party would require at least one villian. This cultured and  refined mastermind, with his love of bonbons, and a total devotion to his  pet mice, would definitely spice things up.

8. Allan Quartermain- to hear of all his magnificent adventures.  And to invite myself on his next trip.

9.  Marian Halcombe- before Mina Harker,  there was the brilliant and collected Marian who helped solve the mystery of The Woman in White.  And since Count Fosco was not-so-secretly in love with her…

10.  Carrot Ironfoundersson- the six-foot adopted dwarf from Disc World.   Utterly sweet and helpful to anyone in need, the always naive Carrot is hilarious in his proclivity of taking everything literally.

Who would you invite to your mad tea party?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2010/07/11/a-mad-tea-party-of-characters/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

24 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. 1) The Golden Trio of course: Hermione, Harry and Ron.

    2) Le Petite Prince, he tells the most interesting stories.

    3) Dumbledore

    4) Honor Harrington, a lady like no other.

    5) The Mad Hatter, after all someone has to brew the tea.

    6) Sherlock Homes, with so many strange guest, a few mysteries are bound to pop up.

    7)Don Quijote and Sancho Panza, what a pair! Wouldn’t be a mad party without them.

    8)Haplo, there is something about that Dog of his I can’t put my finger on.

    9) Eisenhorn, who always dances on the edge of the Abyss.

  2. 1. Elizabeth Bennet
    2. Fitzwilliam Darcy
    3. Mr. Bennet (Lizzie’s father)
    These three of course from Pride and Prejudice. I figured Lizzie wouldn’t attend without her husband, and her father’s pretty snarky so they can sit on one side and make mincemeat of the goings-on.
    4. Sal Paradise – On the Road
    5. Ellen Olenska – The Age of Innocence
    These two are both free spirits, unconstrained (or trying to be) by convention. Ellen may prove too strong for Sal, who is not accustomed to independent, strong-minded, intelligent women but it would be interesting to see how he handles the situation. Ellen and Lizzie could be
    6. Gandalf
    7. Frodo Baggins
    8. Professor Severus Snape
    9. Jo March – Little Women
    10. Jonathan Strange – Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell
    I’m going one over, since you and Ralfast both have more than 10:
    11. Capt. Jack Aubry, from the Patrick O’Brian novels. What can I say? I spent eight years in the Navy, I have a thing for sailors 😉

    Between Gandalf, Snape and Strange, we’d have a mini wizards’ convention! They’ve all taken a walk on the dark side, I want to take notes from that conversation.

    Jo March and Frodo are the pure hearts. Despite all their adventures, it always comes down to home and family for them.

  3. Ooops, half a thought there after Sal and Ellen. I was thinking Ellen and Lizzie would be well-matched intellectually and might hit it off as friends, although Ellen is pretty Bohemian, where Lizzie is more conventional.

  4. 1) Albus Dumbledore from HP series
    2) Gandalf the Grey from LOTR trilogy
    3) Robert Langdon from DAVINCI CODE and others
    4) Alex Cross from ROSES ARE RED and others
    5) Pierce Quincy from THIRD VICTIM and others
    6) Brom from ERAGON

    That’s all I have for now. And stop by my blog…I have some news for you!

  5. Morning Ralfast!

    Hehe! I knew you’d have the “golden trio”. 😉 Great choices!

    As for your pick of the Mad Hatter, I almost went with the White Rabbit. 🙂

  6. Morning DD,

    Love your choice of Snape from HP. Snape was my favorite character of that series. Very well-written, complex and the true hero in many ways.

  7. LOL. I thought you were hinting at something between Lizzie and Ellen. 😉

  8. Morning to you too, Colby!

    Thanks for playing. Very interesting mix of characters there.

    Will be over to your blog to hear your latest news! 🙂

  9. From any era? Ooh. This is interesting.

    The first guest would, without a doubt, have to be Flashman, so we can be regaled with stories about adventuring and great deeds which may or may not have gone quite the way he tells things. I’ve got a feeling he would be one of the best dinner companions available. Utterly untrustworthy, but that isn’t so different from some people I know IRL.

    Winston Smith, because the guy needs cheering up.

    HG Wells’ The Time Traveler would have some interesting tales to tell about the future, the past, and places in-between. He makes it to the party list because television characters aren’t allowed, or I would have chosen The Doctor.

    Lestat or Dracula… Hmm. I would have to have one or the other I suppose, but both have had massive shifts in how they are portrayed in books since their first appearances. I’m desperately trying to think of a book on which Arnold Paole has appeared, just so I can have a vampire at the table to deliver the deathless line “I do not drink… Wine.”

    Maybe I need to think harder about this. 🙂

  10. True, but the White Rabbit is always late, and never stays in one place for long. Kind of hard to enjoy a party when you have someone always look at his watch and complaining about the time.

  11. Hey BigWords aka Steed,

    I love your choice of the Time Traveller. And Dracula was one of my “maybes” that didn’t quite make the final cut. 🙂

  12. Ralfast,

    heh heh. Good point. Maybe we could calm the Rabbit down after a few cocktails. Or, hmm…maybe the liquor would make him more spastic… Okay, it’s warm milk and honey for him.

  13. Sherlock Holmes, Obi-Wan Kenobi, Yoda, Mara Jade Skywalker, Gandalf…

  14. Hi Abby,

    heh! I’d love to see Sherlock Holmes conversing with Yoda! 🙂

  15. Tasha this is out of topic but I thought you might like to see this article on Salon:

    http://www.salon.com/books/feature/2010/07/02/lives_like_loaded_guns_lyndall_gordon/index.html

  16. Hi Ralfast,

    Thanks so much for thinking of me! Sounds like a very interesting book. 🙂

  17. I love your list. May I come to your tea party, too? You are invited to mine. I think I’d have…

    1)Anne from Anne of Green Gables. Her spunk would be enjoyable.
    2)Marianne Dashwood. She’s so much like myself I’d love to have a chat with her.
    3)Elizabeth Bennet, too, of course.
    4)Aslan…its not a tea party without a magical lion!

  18. Of course, Brownpaperbaggirl. A comfy chair awaits you. 🙂

    Anne of Green Gables almost made my list, too.

    Aslan- what a great pick! 🙂

  19. This is awesome…I like your list! Especially Frankenstein’s Monster. Let’s see, who shall I invite?

    1. Stephen Maturin (Aubrey-Maturin series, Patrick O’Brian)
    What tea party would be complete without a naturalist who’s just as likely to show up with his most recent discovery as be late because he was a) spying or b) investigating an interesting nest?

    2. Alan Breck Stewart (Kidnapped and David Balfour/Catriona by Robert Louis Stevenson)
    It wouldn’t be a party of mine without a Scotsman.

    3 & 4. Howl and Sophie (Howl’s Moving Castle by Dianna Wynne Jones)
    They’re very funny, and would be great fun to talk to! Maybe Sophie can speak to my tea kettle and get it to start when I reach the beginning of my neighborhood.

    5. & 6. Tommy and Tuppence (Various books by Agatha Christie)
    I so adore these characters.

    I’ll get back to you with the other four.

  20. Interesting…I’m not sure who I would invite. I will have to think about it some more

  21. Loooooooooove this! Let’s see here:

    1. Anne Elliot
    2. Frederick Wentworth – both from Austen’s Persuasion
    3. Elizabeth Bennet
    4. Stephanie Plum
    5. Ranger
    6. Joe Morelli – Just so I can sit between he and Ranger and get dizzy from the testosterone
    7. Lula
    8. Winnie the Pooh
    9. Huckleberry Finn
    10. Atticus Finch

  22. Hey Beth,

    Oh, I love how you invited Tommy and Tuppence. Those two have always been underrated. And now they can hang with Marple and Poirot. 🙂

  23. Heya Chazz,

    It’s a tough question. My list could change by the minute. 🙂

  24. Stacey,

    I love it! What a great mix: Winnie the Pooh and Atticus Finch. Awesome.


Leave a Reply

