Vacation From The Internet

A while ago, I took a few weeks off from the internet.  That time  served me well.  And this feels  the right time to do so again.    I really want to concentrate on writing.   My latest WIP  must get into some working order. 

I love everything the internet has to offer.  But when used too much, it can really interfere with other aspects of one’s life.  For me, I truly believe balance is the key.  And unfortunately, in the last several weeks,  the scale has weighed too heavily on the internet side. 

So,  I’ll be offline (besides checking email) for about 2-4 weeks.   I’ll miss all my blogger friends like crazy!  And promise to catch up on all your blogs when I return.

In the meantime,  good luck to all of you with your own endeavors.  And take care of yourselves!  🙂

Published in: on August 15, 2010 at 8:45 am  Comments (19)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2010/08/15/vacation-from-the-internet/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

19 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. “Everything in moderation” is a concept which has been eroded over the years, and sticking to punishing work schedules don’t help anyone concentrate. Enjoy yourself on your internet hiatus, but don’t forget that we are here if you need us. 🙂

  2. Good for you! Will miss you, but hope it is productive!

  3. Totally understand. We’ll be here when you get back. 🙂

  4. I wish I could unplug, but even at work I need to be online all day, every day. Enjoy the vacay, though, write in your journal if you feel the itch to do something unconnected with the current WIP. You can always turn it into a blog post later 🙂

    (and have a GREAT day today! 😉 )

  5. I’ve limit most of my internet use to the weekends. The 360 is still in the box until I finished transcribing SuD.

    I don’t know if I can quit cold turkey (I tried, I really tried!) but I can see the wisdom of switching off and tuning in to your work.

    See you on the flip side Tasha!

    😀

  6. Enjoy your break

  7. And to think, my big news of the week is that I’ve just bought a laptop AND will have internet hooked up within the week. 🙂 alas, must do without you for a bit!! 🙂

    Enjoy writing 🙂

  8. A balance, indeed. Enjoy your offline time, and best of luck to you on your WIP. See you when you get back! 🙂

  9. I have to do the same thing periodically. The internet is to shiny and makes me want to play. Enjoy your writing time!

  10. Hey Tasha,

    I had to take a sort-of break from blogging too, to recover from finishing a novel, so I know what you mean. Recharge your batteries and get plenty of writing done. The internet will be waiting when you get back. 🙂

  11. I completely understand! I have been “on hiatus” from blogging because I need to put my writing energy and time into the novel. I am not offline completely though, still using for some communication/research; trying to limit playing/surfing. But I do miss blogging, and so I am rearranging things now. Enjoy your time off and *see* you soon i hope 🙂

  12. Enjoy your time away! Look forward to your return. 🙂

  13. Gypsy, I understand where you’re coming from. I’m addicted. The only thing that’s good about it now is my focus has changed to learning all about networking & marketing. I want to be ready with a huge following before I have a published novel so I won’t have to scramble to develop a network after the fact.

    Striking a good balance between your writing time and surfing is the key. I often get sidetracked while working on my current wip because I have to stop to research some obscure fact, then one click leads to another until I’ve redesigned my entire blog, established a new one, or got sucked into a RSS feed vortex! 😀

    Good luck with your writing!

    P.S. Can you add an email subscription widget so I can sign up to get a notification whenever you post? Thanks, doll!

  14. Tasha, I nominated you for an award on my blog. Pop on over and see what it’s all about.

  15. You still remember me, write? I mean, right? 😉

  16. I just wanted to thank everyone very much for all the kind words. Means a ton to me! 🙂

    I plan to start blogging again in a couple of weeks. In the meantime, I hope everything is going well with all of you.

    Steven,

    No way I could forget ya! 😉 Will make a quick stop over your blog. Thanks! And then it’s back to being about 98% internet free (for now).

  17. p.s. This must be some kinda omen. The link isn’t working for me to get to your blog, Steven.

    I’ll try again later. I guess my Muse is telling me to keep my promise and get offline and back to my WIP. She’s a tough gal…

  18. Gypsy-hope all is well with you these days 🙂

    I thought of you when I spotted this article about a woman starting a Steampunk store in Detroit http://blog.thedetroithub.com/2010/09/08/steampunk-store-you-can-make-it-happen/

  19. Hi Dominique,

    Great to hear from you. Thanks so much for the link. I’m going to return to blogging some time this week or next.

    Miss everyone a lot!


Leave a Reply

