Writing Meme: Day 4- First Stories/Characters

4.Tell us about one of your first stories/characters!

Egads!   My first novels (penned in a lined notebook while scrawled on my bed) involved four sisters : a ladylike one, a tomboyish bookwarm, a shy sweet thing, and a slightly full-of-herself artist.  They were rather poor (no presents for Christmas), but their loving mother tried to make up for that while their father was away fighting in the Civil War. 

*cough cough*

Really.  They weren’t influenced by Little Women at all.  Really.

Err…

Oh, what can I say?  I was about ten years-old.  And shameless copier or not,  the writing obsession, the desire to create characters who’d come alive on the pages and take me along with them on their journey, had begun.

What were some of your first stories?

Published in: on September 26, 2010 at 9:35 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2010/09/26/writing-meme-day-4-first-storiescharacters/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Mercifully, I have no memory of my early efforts 😉

  2. I love Little Women! Some of my firsts efforts were Scarlett O’Hara novels with dashing young soldiers vying for the girls heart. I watched a lot of North & South back in the day. 🙂 Great blog!

  3. Hah, Tasha, that is so cute. 🙂

    I think some of my earliest efforts involved classmates, my dogs, and the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

    Apparently spec fic was just my thing, even at the age of 7. 😛

  4. DD,

    That is merciful! 😉

  5. Hi Shylock,

    Glad that I’m not the only one who stole…err was inspired by the classics!

    And thanks for the compliment about my blog. 🙂

  6. Amy,

    I love the combination of things you wrote about! Would your classmates have been happy about how they were portrayed? 😉

  7. Age 10. I never finished anything I wrote when I was a kid. Did you finish it? Did it end much the same way? 🙂 When I was younger I hated that Jo didn’t marry Laurie, although I liked the professor once she found him. Had I rewritten the book at that age, she most likely would have gone for Laurie… 🙂

  8. Sput,

    Yup. These one hundred or so page “novels” were so dreadful I managed to pen them in one or two afternoons.

    Regarding LW, I also wanted Jo with Laurie when I was a kid. But now I think Alcott chose a much more interesting ending.


Leave a comment