Writing Meme: Day 6- Place of Writing

6. Where are you most comfortable writing? At what time of day? Computer or good ol’ pen and paper?

I’m a writer of simple means.   A pair of comfy pjs,  propped up on the sofa with my netbook,  a mug of cinnamon-laced coffee at my side-  and I am ready to go.

Time of day?   Very early morning and late nights.  Early morning because I’m refreshed, and my mind is spinning ideas  from dream images.  Night because everything is so wonderfully quiet and peaceful.   I can write in the afternoon, but it’s too bright and lacks the quietude of the other times.

Nowadays, I do most of my serious writing on my computer.   But I love my journals and pens for recording dreams and story ideas.

You?

Published in: on September 29, 2010 at 11:19 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2010/09/29/writing-meme-day-6-place-of-writing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Much as I love the whole romantic idea of pen and paper, the reality is the only time I use that anymore is to quickly scribble an idea or part of a scene when the computer is not handy. Like most of us, I don’t have the luxury of being neurotic about where and when I write. Since I got the laptop I migrate around with it: bed room, dining room, living room, coffee shops, library. I rarely write in the morning, even on weekends now. I steal time during the day at work, but evenings are my most productive time.

  2. Very similar…I’m best in the early morning and late at night too, and for the same reasons. And I also adore my journals for writing dreams and ideas and sometimes short stories and poetry and such. Ah, I love being a writer 🙂

  3. Hey DD,

    I’ve toyed with the idea of writing a first draft by pen, but the computer is heavenly for revisions and edits.

  4. Hi Rebecca,

    Nice to hear from someone else who loves journals! And yes, I love being a writer too. Can’t imagine not hitting the keys, no matter how difficult it can be at times. It’s a good kind of addiction…

  5. Early mornings, although I’ve recently found I can do early evenings too–only they turn into nights 🙂 And for me it’s my laptop and the couch. I keep thinking to move my furniture around because I’d love to write at my desk, looking out my window at all the NYC windows, but truth is I think the desk’s too high! :-/

    Btw, have you seen the photo of Dylan Thomas’ desk? It’s red. Looks gorgeous. 🙂 Very non-fancy, but the color is HOT. Makes me want a red desk. 🙂


Leave a Reply

