Writing Meme: Day 7: Writing and Music

7. Do you listen to music while you write? What kind? Are there any songs you like to relate/apply to your characters?

Not so long ago, the answer would have been, “no”.  I worked in utter silence or with the television on.  (yes, there is no need to point out the contrariness of that)  But then the lovely DD of Filling Spaces alerted me to the wondrous allclassical.org, and I was thusly hooked.  Love that station because they play such a fantastic variety of musicians and styles, introducing me to lots of composers  I’d never heard of.  And they prove such hosts can be tons of fun and lighthearted.  No  Charles Emerson Winchester the Third-ians need apply!

If PORTRAITS OF THE LIVING: A GHOST TALE has a soundtrack, then I think it would be The Hours.   Philip Glass’s haunting, somewhat monotonous piano music is reminiscent of my characters trapped in their personal hells.

Do you listen to music while you write?  Does your novel have a soundtrack?

Published in: on September 30, 2010 at 11:29 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2010/09/30/writing-meme-day-7-writing-and-music/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I was the same: couldn’t stand to have music playing. Then I discovered Einaudi, and now all bets are off. SWORD and SONG both had his album Divenire for a soundtrack (and Eden Roc and I Giorni and pretty much everything else) — and when I moved on to WEAVE, I discovered I could handle techno too.

    Now I think I’d have a hard time writing in silence!

  2. Thanks for the shout-out 🙂 If you like Glass, have you heard his “Koyanisqaatsi”? I think you’d like it. If my novel had a soundtrack I’d have Hans Zimmer write it.

  3. Another entrapped by the pulsing rhythms. Welcome to the club! 😉

  4. I’m a music-listener all the way. But what I tend most often to do is I have one song on continuous loop. When I sit back after a scene/whatnot, I may change it or may not. And sometimes there are songs that together make for a great mood, and I’ll put them on a continuous cycle. But I can’t just listen and have anything come up.

    That said, sometimes if an idea comes from nowhere, I’ll grab the laptop and start writing, and when I emerge from the heat, I find I’m listening to Crocodile Rock or something equally out of place with the book 🙂

  5. Hey Amy,

    I recall you mentioning Einaudi before, and listened to some music from him. Quite good stuff.

  6. Hey DD,

    You’re welcome! You got me adddited, by the way.

    And thanks for telling me about Koyanisqaatsi. I had never heard of the music or the movie it’s from.

  7. Heya Sput,

    So what songs have been in the loop? 🙂

  8. Why thank you, Ralfast! 😉


Leave a Reply

