Another Quick Meme: Oh My!

Ahem.  Interrupting The Neverending Writing Meme for something not-so-entirely different:  another meme.

Yes, that’s right.  I’ve been tagged.  Again.  By someone else:   Steven

Okay, here we go:

1. If you could have any superpower, what would it be? Why?

Shapeshifting!   I love to change forms in creative meditations.  It would be so amazing to shift for real on the physical plane.   Just transform into a bird and take off.   That’s freedom.  🙂 

*and as an extra, if somewhat nefarious reason, there are a few jerks I’d want to perch on top of*
2. Who is your style icon?

This one is difficiult to answer.  I’ve never thought of emulating someone’s style.  I admire Cain’s terse style, his rawness.  But I also really admire Wilkie Collin’s highly descriptive prose and his deep character portraits.   I’m probably some weird mix of all the different types of writers I enjoy.

Recently, a beta told me I reminded her of Iris Murdoch.  That was pretty cool to hear!  🙂
3. What is your favorite quote?

This quote by Goethe is always good to keep in mind:  “An unused life is an early death.”

4. What is the best compliment you’ve ever received?

“That I’m my own person.”
5. What playlist/CD is in your CD Player/iPod right now?

Actually, nothing.  I’ve been enjoying the beauty of silence.
6. Are you a night owl or a morning person?

Both.  I love the fresh, somewhat inspiring feeling of dawn.  Yes, I’m an optimist.  😉  And night, because it’s so peaceful.

It’s the afternoon that I’m quite happy to sleep through if possible.
7. Do you prefer dogs or cats?

Dogs!  

Cats are cool, and they fascinate me with their meditative poses.  But dogs bring out the maternal side in me.  Uh, yeah.  I react the way towards canines the way other women supposedly do toward human babies.  What can I say?


8. What is the meaning behind your blog name?

Ah, this one is easy.  (and probably obvious).  I’ve been interested in gypsy culture since I was a little kid.  Of course, in the years since, I’ve learned the true plight the Romany have suffered.  But that romanticized image remains.  And when I hear the term, “gypsy”- I think of a carefree person living by their own terms.

Published in: on October 17, 2010 at 9:01 pm  Comments (11)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2010/10/17/another-quick-meme-oh-my/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Heh, for style icon I would’ve said Vera Wang 😉

  2. LOL. I had no idea if the question pertained to fashion or writing.

    I love Catherine Deneuve’s chic, subtlely sexy look. Also love Stevie Nick’s bohemian gypsy style. Two very different looks. But I like when people dress the way that suits them and don’t follow every trend that comes along.

  3. Haha! I wasn’t sure either. Guess it shows where my head is, immediately thinking pop culture reference. Actually, fashion-wise, I don’t think I really have a “style icon,” I tend to put together whatever I like. I used to love Stevie’s style, she’s toned it down in later years (do you know she’s in her 60s now?!?!?) I’m not really up on haute couture, 6 seasons of “SATC” didn’t even help there 😉

  4. I put together what I like too.

    Stevie looks fantastic. Though I do miss her more bohemian look.

    I never watched SATC. It always seemed to just be about a group of whiny women complaining about dates and talking about shoes. Or at least that’s the only thing they did in any ad I saw for it. Were you a fan?

    btw, Just started watching True Blood on the sci-fi channel here. Very cool.

  5. Oh I loved SATC, I have all of it on DVD. Yes, they were often kind of whiny, self-absorbed neurotics (Carrie especially, Sarah Jessica Parker’s character), but I think that made them more human. And after 15 years of dating in New York, I think anyone’s entitled to be a little neurotic! 😉 They were definitely not average, though, spending the money they did on clothes and shoes. But a lot of the relationship issues they brought up were very good, and the writing was witty.

    I have yet to see an episode of True Blood, I’ll have to see if the library has it (not likely, but worth checking).

  6. My style icon would probably be a clothes bin at Goodwill. 😛

    (Well, not that crazed, but really, I wear whatever catches my eye.)

    And yay for dog people!

  7. Heya Amy,

    *Waves hello to another dog lover.* 🙂

  8. I adore your comment about reacting to dogs like most people do to babies 😉 I’m familiar with this reaction!

  9. Colby,

    I think there’s more of us out there than we realize! 🙂

  10. For style I would have said a cross between business casual and bohemian. 🙂 I have a lace ruffled shirt that always makes me feel like the Vampire Lestat when I wear it. Though to casual observers it’s probably more like “The Puffy Shirt” from Seinfeld.

  11. Marian,

    hee hee. Nothing wrong with “puffy shirts”. 🙂

    I guess I’d call my style: feminine casual with a touch of bohemian.


Leave a Reply

