A Gypsy’s Plans for the New Year

First, Happy New Year to everyone!

I was just checking last year’s post:  https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2010/01/04/plans-for-a-victorian-in-the-new-year/, in which my goals were to read 12 German novels, keep up my daily writing, and find Sput a new hobby so she would stop regaling me nonstop about her city.

Let’s see how I fared.

I did indeed read 12 novels in German.

I wrote almost everyday, and in doing so revised PORTRAITS several times, and completed a few rough drafts.

And I did find Sput some new hobbies!   She’ll thank me one day. 

So, onto this year’s plans

1.  Rewrite, revise, edit, etc one of my rough drafts into a lovely, polished piece ready for submission

2.  Continue my German studies.  But while I’ll still be reading German, this year, I intend to concentrate on improving my listening skills.  (my weakest point, I fear).  So I shall intensely listen to German for at least one hour a day.  No eating, or writing, or knitting, or anything else but paying close heed to the sounds of Deutsch for that hour.  Let’s see if 365 hours of intense German listening has helped by the end of the year.

3.  Read at least one novel in French.  Yes,  the bug known as Francophilia has overtaken me.  Goodness, help me!

So, what shall you be working on this year?

– Ishtar’s Gate inside the Pergamon Museum

Published in: on January 2, 2011 at 12:39 pm  Comments (23)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2011/01/02/a-gypsys-plans-for-the-new-year/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

23 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good luck with your resolutions, and congrats on succeeding with your last ones. I am very anxious to read one of your manuscripts. Feel free to send one my way if you ever want another opinion. 😉

  2. Have I mentioned my city to you recently? Funny, as I just finished a new memoir set in it. *sits down in a genteel manner and begins to discourse*

    🙂 🙂 🙂

    Congrats on all your awesome writing, and on your rocking German! I hadn’t realized you were going for that magic number of 12… Very impressive.

    I can’t actually fathom deciding on resolutions and KEEPING THEM. The latter part is very unorthodox of you. But enough! I support your unorthodoxy. 🙂 🙂

    Happy New Year and good luck–although I have faith you’ll succeed 🙂 (brilliantly)

  3. Thank you so very much, Jessica!

    And likewise- if you ever want to send me something you’ve written.

  4. Hee hee!

    *makes huge cup of coffee and readies self for a Tolstoyian-length memoir of Sput’s city*

    🙂 🙂 🙂

    And thankee! But see, my secret of success, is to select things that I know I can accomplish. 😉

    Also, they tend to be “journeys” rather than actual goals, so to speak. It’s not like I’m ever going to reach a point where I don’t have to continue working on bettering my German or my writing or whatnot.

    I just like to know at the end of each year, that I’ve improved and learned new things.

  5. Happy New Year!

    Are you going to write about Babylon next?

  6. That’s great that you actually kept your resolutions you set last year! Congratulations, especially on the German novel reading. And now French? C’est magnifique! How much French do you already know? Do you watch German tv or movies much? I have heard (no pun intended) that just listening all the time like that can be very helpful.

    Personally I don’t set resolutions, but I probably should. It might help me stay focused on things that I tend to let slide. Let me know what resources you’re using for French, maybe we could do a bit of practice together. Just bear in mind I am a beginner en Francais!

  7. Thanks, Ralfast!

    Heh. No. I actually just picked that picture on a whim because I love that particular museum. Weird choice for the post, I realize.

    But hey, maybe one day I will write about Babylon. 🙂

  8. Hey DD,

    Thanks!!

    I do try to watch some German TV every day. But I’ve noticed that a lot of times, I’ll be just passively listening to it in the background while doing other things. That’s why I plan on scheduling “intensive” listening times.

    Oh, that’s cool that you are interested in French, too. I’m a *complete* beginner, but find it oddly relaxing. Probably because I don’t have to learn it the way I must learn German. It’s something I can learn at my own pace for pure enjoyment.

    And plus, I find the sound of the language so utterly calm and soothing.

    Thus far, I’ve just been watching a bit of French tv, and looking up the lists of most common vocabulary, and some general grammar. I also bought a simple German/French phrase book that I’m browsing through. Oh, and a French newspaper. I saw it at a stand and couldn’t resist. 🙂

    Anyhow, this link is quite good:
    http://french.about.com/od/vocabulary/ss/mostcommonwords.htm

  9. Happy New Year! You really was busy last year. Novels are not skimpy books one can flip through and say next! Good for you to strengthen up your week spot of German. It is so easy to be passive when it sound like background sound, lol, or Charley Brown teacher:)
    I am doing the same by watching new and old movies that I seen before also by watching cooking shows. I love cooking so the cooking show keep my attention to keep focus. By the end of the year I know you will be able to understand and hear every single German pronunciation. You will be like oh that is how that sounds like, lol, I am like so serious.

  10. Hey Starting Over,

    Thanks!! And goodness, I hope your optimistic premonition comes true! 🙂

    I wish you the best on your German learning as well.

    And I also enjoy watching the cooking shows. I’m not a cook like you are, but I love seeing what goodies they make. 🙂

  11. Your welcome! With all the hard work you do with reading and studying I think it will:) It all up to you.

  12. I’m proud of you for making your resolutions stick. I don’t know if any of mine from last year did. *sigh* I think this year I’m not making any written ones so that way I can’t look back and see I didn’t do them, haha!

  13. I just started a new blog, The Dusty Bookshelf, for reviewing books. So just as soon as you get that manuscript finished, let me know and I’ll issue your first press release/review. 🙂

  14. Thank you so much, Colby! And hey, don’t be hard on yourself. You rocked last year from what I read on your blog. Just all your incredible dances and shows you were involved in alone!

  15. Jessica,

    THANK YOU!!

    One day when I manage to become agented and am on my way to having it published (*crosses fingers*), I will definitely send it to you to read and review. That would be wonderful.

    I can’t wait to check out your new blog this weekend! 🙂

  16. Nothing like sharing your goals to keep you focused and accountable! Good luck with 2011

  17. Oh, Tasha, you make me feel so LAZY. 🙂

    Seriously, that’s wonderful that you met every goal. I’ve always been vague about my resolutions: maybe if I’m more specific I’ll actually accomplish them.

    Happy new year to you too!

  18. Thank you, Chazz! 🙂

  19. Thank you, Amy. But goodness- YOU lazy? Are you kidding me? I’m awed by all the writing you accomplish each year!

  20. I have a lot of course reading to do, and I’m taking my first literature class! Immensely excited.

    Also, great job on the German reading! I really should learn another language.

  21. Hi Abby!

    I hope you really enjoy the Literature class. Love to hear how excited you are about it. 🙂

  22. Good luck with your resolutions!
    I hope to write more this year, read more classic books, and finally read Pinocchio in Italian. XD

    I would love to read a book in French…I recently read Les Miserables (in English) and found myself wishing that I could read it as Hugo originally wrote it.

  23. Thank you, Beth!

    I’ll be interested in knowing which classic books you enjoy this year, and if you do get to Pinoccio in Italian.

    I haven’t even read Les Miserable in English. I can’t even imagine how incredible it must be in its original language.

    Good luck with all your plans for the New Year!


Leave a Reply

