Of The Rabbit Year and Walt Whitman

 

Come February 3rd, according to Chinese astrology, we enter the year of the rabbit.   According to belief,   during rabbit years, people tend to concentrate much on family and loved ones.  There is a renewed desire to slow down and enjoy the little things in life.  And yes, there is often much passion and sex.  Rabbit nature being as it is.

Rabbits are the 4th sign in the Chinese zodiac and are noted for being  happy-go-lucky, sensual, refined,  loyal, and very serene.  They tend to hate discord of any kind and will go out of their way to avoid rows.  It is not that they are timid, so much as they just wish to be left alone and live in harmonious environments.

On the negative side, rabbits may be moody, overly sensitive, and aloof.

To ensure good fortune during their special year, those born under the sign of Rabbit should wear red on the New Year, and avoid washing their hair.  (don’t want to wash away any good luck!)

And now a poem from that Rabbit Victorian, Walt Whitman:

To A STRANGER

by: Walt Whitman (1819-1892)

  •  
      ASSING stranger! you do not know how longingly I look upon you,
      You must be he I was seeking, or she I was seeking, (it comes to me as of a dream,)
      I have somewhere surely lived a life of joy with you,
      All is recall’d as we flit by each other, fluid, affectionate, chaste, matured,
      You grew up with me, were a boy with me or a girl with me,
      I ate with you and slept with you, your body has become not yours only nor left my body mine only,
      You give me the pleasure of your eyes, face, flesh, as we pass, you take of my beard, breast, hands, in return,
      I am not to speak to you, I am to think of you when I sit alone or wake at night alone,
      I am to wait, I do not doubt I am to meet you again,
      I am to see to it that I do not lose you.
Published in: on January 30, 2011 at 8:46 pm  Comments (23)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2011/01/30/of-the-rabbit-year-and-walt-whitman/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

23 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Most bunnies would disapprove of your characterization.

    Then again they are masters of disapproval! 😀

    http://cuteoverload.com/2010/02/21/bunday-disapproval/

  2. Ah, but they are so charming and cute even when they do disapprove. 🙂

  3. It’ll be interesting to see how this year shapes up. Bunnies can be skittish and temperamental, too 😉

  4. DD,

    I’m very interested in this coming year. Being a Rabbit myself, I must admit, to feeling quite excited about it.

    I also now want to look more deeply into Chinese Astrology, because just as in Western Astrology where one’s sun sign is only a small part- surely, Chinese Astrology must go much more in depth besides just what year someone is born.

  5. From Tiger to Rabbit: what a difference. I’m a goat, I think. A bit less even-tempered, but with similar… reproductive capacity.

    Ought to be an interesting year. 😛

  6. Oh yah, there’s much more to it. For instance, I’m a ‘metal Rat’. There’s an element with each as well (fire, water, wood, metal, air, I think). Don’t know much beyond that, though.

  7. lol, love it! I am a fuzzy rabbit:)

  8. Amy,

    hee hee. Love how you put that last remark. 🙂

  9. DD,

    yeah. I’m a wood Rabbit. I don’t know anything beyond that, either.

    I am curious if they have moon and rising signs (or something similar) like in Western Astrology.

  10. Hey Starting Over!

    Gives a cheery wave to a fellow Rabbit. 🙂

    If you don’t know your element, here’s a link for ya:

    http://www.articlesbase.com/astrology-articles/chinese-zodiac-rabbit-by-element-732324.html

  11. Hello fellow rabbit:)
    I just checked out the link and I don’t know which rabbit am I:( I know for sue not a fire rabbit because I show my roller coaster emotion.

  12. Got the dates for you 🙂

    1903 and 1963 is water rabbit
    1915 and 1975 is wood rabbit
    1927 and 1987 is fire rabbit
    1939 and 1999 is earth rabbit
    1951 and 2011 is metal rabbit

  13. There is a manga called “Fruits Basket” and there are characters that are based on the Chinese Zodiac. When they hug someone of the opposite sex they turn into their zodiac animal. It’s a cute manga. There is also an anime based on it but it’s not as good as the manga.

    I’m a sheep and my element is Earth.

  14. I’m going to celebrate with some rabbit stew. Oh, too soon? LOL

  15. Hey Lyra,

    Thanks for mentioning the manga. I recall hearing about it (and the anime). I knew it involved something about turning into animals, but not that it was based on Chinese astrology. Cool!

    And it’s interesting to learn of others’ signs. Thanks for sharing.

  16. *gasp!*

    *attacks Jessica with an utterly disarming Bunny glare*

    😉

  17. Bunny glare is on, lol
    It is so weird from the date giving it says that I am a Fire Rabbit. But the description from the link stated Fire Rabbit does not wear their emotion on their sleeve or let it show. I always show my emotion…I can’t help it or hold it in. When I am happy a loud burst of laughter appear. When I am sad waterfall of water silence trickle down my face. When I am stress I have a lost look on my face and just want to be left alone.

  18. i first read this title as Rabbit of the Year. I looked at the photo and thought to mysel, “I can see why! He is QUITE attractive.”

  19. Heh. Well, they have Best of Dog contests. Why not one for bunnies? 🙂

  20. I’m a rabbit! 😀

  21. waves hello to another fellow rabbit. 🙂

  22. Thankyou ever so much for your post, it rekindled fondest memories of when I would devour poetry by Yeats, Whitman, Swinburne and Rossetti.

  23. Hi Secrets,

    Thanks so much for stopping over at my blog.

    I absolutely adore Rossetti’s work.


Leave a Reply

