The Colorful Paintings of Sir Lawrence Alma Tadema

Sir Lawrence Alma Tadema
1836-1912

– Dutch painter of classical subjects. Renowned for his dazzling blue skies and seas. Nicknamed the “marbelous painter” for his realistic depiction of the stone. Highly regarded during his lifetime, his work fell out of favor until it was rediscovered in the 1960s.

</

Published in: on September 18, 2011 at 9:29 pm  Comments (26)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2011/09/18/the-colorful-paintings-of-sir-lawrence-alma-tadema/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

26 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is beautiful! I’ve never seen this artists work before. It really is amazing. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Hi Diana,

    I’m so glad I was able to introduce you to him! And thanks for stopping over at my blog. πŸ™‚

  3. The three-dimensionality and accuracy (the engraving on the marble, the tiger skin) is amazing, and he certainly deserves to be regarded in the same heights as other masters. Of course, looking at his work normally makes me very, very jealous of his abilities…

  4. I like the fourth one from the top. The Greek letters make it interesting as well the sea beyond. I can imagine this happening in the Greek isles.

  5. It is like all bath house from history of time architecture have not change increasingly. I love how the ladies are free in the water. I know this is still allowed in Germany. Down the street from me they have certain days and time one can come and be free. John say no way, no wife of his will show her goodies, lol.

    I like the artist vividness of colors he use and when not he show a nice bold outline. I have a question for you. Are the last two photos the same red head woman or was tiger carpet the in thing back than?

  6. Hey Ralfast,

    I agree on both counts. Plus, I love the reflection of the water.

  7. Heh, I’d go in a heartbeat, Lora! It’s just about being free and comfy. πŸ™‚

    That’s a good question. There is a resemblance between the ladies. Unfortunately, I don’t know whether or not it is the same woman, but it very well may be. A lot of artists liked to use the same model.

    Tiger carpets were in style via an interest in Orientalism at that time.

  8. Hey Bigwords,

    *nods*. The amount of detail is incredible. I feel I could stroke that carpet and run my hands through the water…

  9. I think I maybe go one day (if I am defiant enough) when he is out of town and when it is not too cold since I would be walking back home. Thank you very much for the Orientalism information I just learn something new. I have a quota to learn at least one thing per day if not more:) Silly but it is just me. Also I am digging the last photo of the two young lady talking. It is quite funny. I look at the brunette and I see her hand gesture is like she is talking about her self with her mouth partially open and eyes pointing at the ceiling. As her shy/meek friend tentatively listen to each words said.

    Or she could be look up talking about something new in the room or a memories, lol, I love photos like these it get my imagination working!

  10. Oh ya, my weekend was good too thanks:)

  11. Lora,

    Desiring to learn something new is one of the best darn qualities one can have. Keeps one’s mind open. Plus, makes life so much more fun and interesting! There are so many treasures out there. πŸ™‚

  12. I love Alma-Tadema, odd that he fell out of favor. The one of the two women in the bath is striking for the absolute clarity of the water. In a real pool you wouldn’t be able to see quite so well what’s under the surface πŸ˜‰

    Good for you, Lora, for always wanting to learn, nothing silly about it.

  13. […] Tweet of the Day: The Colorful Paintings of Sir Lawrence Alma Tadema […]

  14. Hi DD thank you and Tasha:)

  15. I like the Egyptian scene best – you just don’t see too many paintings set in that time and place. Thanks for sharing this!

  16. Oh my! I think I should like to hang out in that bath in the first one! πŸ™‚

  17. Wow

  18. Marian, there was another famous painter at around the same time who did paint a lot of exotic settings, including Egypt. I remember seeing paintings, but of course can not recall his name now!

    But you’re right. I don’t recall many painting that region.

  19. Colby,

    You can join the rest of us! πŸ˜‰

  20. I know, Chazz!

    πŸ™‚

  21. I love this artist! He’s new for me. He so evokes a response in the senses that I want to reach out and touch a subjects dress or splash my hand in the water.

  22. Amy,

    I know. It’s so vivid. I can almost truly feel that water.

  23. I don’t know if I would have been able to identify these paintings as all being by the same artist if you hadn’t told me. The styles seem somewhat different to me. My favorite is the Greeks with flower petals by the sea, though they’re all gorgeous.

  24. Diane,

    I’m having a hard time pickin a favorite, but I ove the flower petals by the sea, too.

  25. Great blog by the way.

  26. Thank you so very much! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

