Death and Halloween

A few days away till the best holiday of all… Halloween!

Spirits, witches, pumpkins, and candy (LOTS of candy)… what is there not to love?

For some, Oct 31st is a secular holiday dedicated to trick or treating, parties, and telling ghostly tales whilst sitting round the parlor.

For others, it is a spiritual time. A night to contact one’s departed, as well as marking the end of the harvest as the dark half of the year begins. A time of endings, and beginnings.

For all who celebrate All Hallows, it is the symbol of Death which is most prominent. Not the scary Death of Hollywood, but the mysterious comforter. For all are equal in Her embrace.

“-I’m not blessed, or merciful. I’m just me. I’ve got a job to do, and I do it. Listen: even as we’re talking, I’m there for old and young, innocent and guilty, those who die together and those who die alone. I’m in cars and boats and planes; in hospitals and forests and abbatoirs. For some folks death is a release, and for others death is an abomination, a terrible thing. But in the end, I’m there for all of them.”- Death from Gaiman’s, Sandman

Published in: on October 28, 2011 at 12:32 pm  Comments (23)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gypsyscarlett.wordpress.com/2011/10/28/death-and-halloween/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

23 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. if you love Halloween then you probably have a pretty good chance of winning my competition! its just a bit of fancy dress fun πŸ™‚
    http://laughteriscatching.com/2011/10/28/competition-alert-who-dresses-the-fanciest/

  2. Hi Tinkerbelle,

    Unfortunately, I’m not creative that way. But thanks for the invite! And for visiting my blog. πŸ™‚

  3. This post maid my skin crawl:) Anything dealing with death does. Even gave me goose bumps reading over Death from Gaiman’s, Sandman. My goodness he is so on point. No one can hide and run away from death when and where it happens is only a mystery. Also to age. People always kills me when they say or he/she was too young to die. We don’t know what life have waiting for us so we need to enjoy it because the end is all waiting for us.

    Shivering post but I like it!

  4. Hey Lora!

    Exactly! πŸ™‚ About enjoying life, that is. πŸ˜‰

    For me, the knowledge of death is a positive reminder to embrace life, and not sweat over little things.

  5. I am sorry but I must repeat “exactly”. We got to live it, enjoy it, and try our best to ignore ignorance around us when we can by keeping our hands in our pocket and walking away with a smile. Telling yourself (myself) so not worth it so not worth it, lol. About to go to Karstadt to get help buying accessories for my sewing machine. Wishing you a wonderful day Tasha.

  6. Awww, thanks! You’re a sweetie! You have a wonderful day, too. πŸ™‚

  7. Love the poem. Happy Hallowe’en to all! πŸ™‚

  8. Death is Life punctuation mark.

  9. […] 29 Oct Tweet of the Day: Death and Halloween […]

  10. An elegant, well-composed post, as always.

    Thanks for mentioning Carmilla, by the way–I finally got around to reading it. Great story overall, but I was a kind of disappointed by the ending. It seemed really cold and detached by contrast to the rest of the story–I expected at least some display of remorse about what happens to Carmilla, but I suppose this was long before readers might be expected to identify with vampires.

  11. Happy Halloween, DD! πŸ™‚

  12. Ah, but which punctuation mark, Ralfast? πŸ˜‰

  13. Thank you Haystack!

    I have to reread Carmilla, myself. I remember not being utterly pleased with the ending either, but admired the atmosphere that Lefanu created throughout.

  14. Happy Halloween everyone!

  15. I associate Halloween with food and lots of hard work. Am canning up the last of the harvest and stocking up on wood for the fire and candles for the dark and stormy nights in which we lose power. Into winter’s death grip we go…

  16. Thanks, Lora!

    Have fun this night.

  17. sorry that you have hard work ahead of you, Diane. But what a poetic way to put it! πŸ™‚

  18. Gypsy: To each life it’s own. πŸ˜‰

  19. Oh, Ralfast! If only more people would realize that one!!

  20. Halloween is fun no matter which way you take it, I think. Unless you’re a dentist (which I just posted about). Those bastards don’t have fun, I don’t think.

    Have you ever seen ‘The Halloween That Almost Wasn’t’? Cheesy old Halloween movie, but your post made me think of it!

  21. Colby, I haven’t. But I just looked it up and it sounds like a lot of fun. πŸ™‚

  22. Your post reminded me of that episode of Twilight Zone titled:
    “Nothing in the Dark” Episode 81 – January 5,1962

    An old woman has fought with death a thousand times and has always won. But now she finds herself afraid to let a wounded policeman (Robert Redford) in her door for fear he is Mr. Death. Is he?

    Copied from the back of the DVD. It’s a great episode for Halloween. Yeah I know this post is a bit late. lol.

  23. No worries, Lyra. It’s never too late to post a friendly comment.

    and I love The Twilight Zone.


Leave a Reply

